Delicata Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Substituted Half & Half for heavy cream and added some nutmeg, otherwise followed the recipe. This soup is creamy and sweet, I absolutely loved it and put it in my pumpkin soup bowls this year. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Simple and delicious. I used half and half as suggested and some nutmeg. It was flavorful enough without salt or pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Delicious! This was the first time I've used Delicata squash and I loved it, the flavor is so delicate. I used chicken broth, omited the heavy cream, and added about a 1/4 low fat milk at the end. I'm headed to the farmer's market now in hopes of finding more delicata squash to make this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy
Living In: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
For a more healthful soup, I sauteed the squash with more onion for more carmelization, before adding the veggie broth. I simmered the broth and squash together for about 45 minutes, removed the bay leaves. pureed the soup, and added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I added a soupcon of heavy cream to eachbowl when I served it. More taste of squash in this version, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Roast squash first, has a neat nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delicious! Made it from organic CSA box and will make it again. I didn't have heavy cream and so I found a substitute online that worked just fine: mixed 3/4 c milk, 1/3 c melted butter, with 1 tbls flour. I also used a pre-made veggie broth (store bought) and so I didn't add any salt and it didn't miss it at all. I also softened the squash in the microwave instead of in the oven- about 5 minutes in a bowl with a little water to steam. Thank you for a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good - did not adjust the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This has to be the best fall soup in the world! I cut the recipe in half because I only had one large delicata squash... It still came out perfect. My husband liked his with a sprinkle of cinnamon on top. I will make this again for sure. It is rich and elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Delicious soup reminiscient of potato soup, but sweeter. I made a few alterations - half and half instead of heavy cream, low-fat/low sodium chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also added a few sprigs of fresh thyme and a dash of crushed red pepper for a little kick. My family liked it well enough to add it to our menu periodically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
had this at a friends and then made myself 3 days later! SO good! my friend used half and half instead of the heavy whipping cream (as did i) and it was perfect! may try next time with homo milk instead to make it a touch healthier! over all fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States