Delicata Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
WOW!!! I always loved butter squash soup whenever I ate out, but I never made it at home until now and it was a hit! I skipped the chopped onion and used chicken both, cinnamon and onion powder instead and the roasted smell lingered long after soup was served. We loved it and will be a home recipe favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
yummy!!! Made this tonight and it is amazing! I did add nutmeg & cinnamon, as other reviewers suggested. This as a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJBHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had a couple of delicatas and a couple of carnival squash in our CSA box, so I used both varieties. I added about a half-teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg and substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for the heavy whipping cream. The results were smooth, creamy, and very rich-tasting. Definitely a keeper! I can't wait to try it with just the delicatas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by calicarolee
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Ran across this recipe by typing in the search bar for delicata squash, so I made it!! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and it turned out great. If my vegetable delivery man brings me more delicata squash, I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I added some curry powder to take it up a notch! So yummmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slycooley24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome soup. I used leeks as well as onions and used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also made small cheese puffs and served them on top like crouton. Complete meal in one dish. Will be added as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
So good, and very versatile! I changed almost everything in the recipe, and still delicious! Used milk, butter and flour instead of cream, onion powder (no onion), chicken broth, added carrots. Also added baked spaghetti squash: Poke spaghetti squash with knife to prevent bursting in oven. Place on a pan, and roast at 375 degrees for 1 hour. Mix with 4 Tb butter, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Add to soup. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This soup was so easy to make and quite tasty. Instead of the heavy cream I used a block of soft tofu, which added a nice creamy texture and extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great Recipe! Have used several varities of squash, whatever was handy, and each came out great. Also subsitued fat free half and half for the heavy cream creating a lower calorie version that is still creamy. It's become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Substituted Half & Half for heavy cream and added some nutmeg, otherwise followed the recipe. This soup is creamy and sweet, I absolutely loved it and put it in my pumpkin soup bowls this year. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States