Deli-Style Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was a pretty good pasta salad. I scaled the recipe to half and used grape tomatoes in lieu of the large tomato. I also added some halved black olives and cracked black pepper. Thanks for sharing your recipe, lana Boyd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I have made this salad for years and have gotten great responses. Any potluck I am asked to make it, Salad Supreme is the key. I have also found that using the cheapest dressing works best. I add olives, green onions instead of red and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. I also make a mayonnaise dressing version just be sure to salt your pasta water and check your seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This pasta salad seems to be the quick "go-to" salad everyone has been using for years ... and with good reason ... its soooo easy to throw together, it makes a large serving, and with the fresh ingredients its really refreshing on a hot summer day. As others have stated the veggie choices are endless. Using grape tomatoes will saving you time and they also present nice when halved. I personally skip the onion and cucumber and stick with the tomato and green pepper. BUT to really kick up the flavor and turn on the Italian, I toss in quartered sliced pepperoni, sliced black olives, and sprinkle with parmesan cheese just before serving. Also, the pasta does tend to absorb some of the dressing if you are not serving right away (and you shouldn't ... it needs time to chill and blend), so I save a bit of the Italian dressing to add just before serving. I have also at times tossed in some cubed monterey cheese and that has always been well received. Whatever your choices you will be pleased with this pasta salad starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Its a good recipe, i used the tricolor pasta, wishbone zesty itallian dressing, grape tomatoes, sliced carrots, red onion, broccoli and cauliflower and i add southwest chicken breast strips in the pkg along with any variety of cubed cheese for a complete meal. You can make many different combinations with the many vegetables out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Been making this for years except with vermicelli broken into 1-2" pieces before cooking. Also don't use cuke's and only 1 each of the onion (chopped) and green bell pepper. I always marinate over night and add the chopped tomatoes right before serving. Everyone loves it and we call it Fantastic Pasta Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I have made this for years. However, I prefer the English cucumber (without so many seeds) to regular cucumbers as it holds up better. I also marinate veggies and dressing overnight and then cook pasta in the morning. The recipe I have calls for plain Spaghetti noodles, but have used all sorts. It is perfect to take on a picnic because you don't have to worry about spoiling. I also use the grape tomatoes instead of chopped tomatoes so it will keep longer. Plus I love to add green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Very good! Simple and tasty. I used Tasty Salad Seasoning (from this site) and it worked very well. I added sliced green olives at hubby's request and skipped the onions. I cut the recipe down to 5 servings and only used about 1/4 of a green pepper, which was just right for our preferences. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great pasta salad! Pasta salads are so easy and no matter what you add to them as long as the veggies are fresh, you use a good quality dressing, and it's chilled - it'll be delicious. So add what you like. This recipe is a great base. I used tri-colored pasta, a whole bunch of cherry tomatoes that I cut in half, used one red onion instead of two, red pepper instead of green and added some black olives along with the cucumber. For the dressing I used Good Seasons Italian dressing mix (so it was kinda homemade, and kinda not). I also threw in some shredded Parmesan cheese and instead of using Salad Supreme Seasoning I used "Tasty Salad Seasoning" from this site - it's fabulous. This recipe is a definite keeper and much cheaper than getting it from the deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I used Smart Taste pasta, only a quarter of a red onion that I diced (I can't imagine that my family would have been crazy about two whole red onions in one salad), and I used red bell pepper instead of green (we don't care for green peppers). For the salad supreme seasoning, I used one whole batch of DC Girly Girl's Tasty Salad Seasoning, which is also from this site. We thought this was very tasty! I think this would be good with cubed provolone or sharp cheddar cheese or maybe even cubed salami to make a complete meal for hot summer days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States