Dee's Special Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I thought this would be a good recipe, my husband and I both like beer, there was way too much sage in it. None of us could eat it. you don;t need to precook the chicken and i did use frozen breasts, and that worked out well, it was just too much sage. It did smell great as it was cooking. good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I have to say that this was pretty good! The beer really worked, it didn't even really taste like beer! I used 4 frozen (I didn't thaw, either) chicken breasts on the bone with skin, and I didn't broil them - although next time I will use garlic salt, pepper, and flour, and brown them in a pan. As always, I added chicken broth (1/2 can this time) to cover the meat so it wouldn't dry up. I used about 10 cloves of garlic crushed and chopped. I also sliced an onion and threw that on top of the chicken. Also, I used 1 bottle of Pyramid Hefeweizen. Next time I will squeeze a couple of oranges into the crock to enhance the flavor. Cooked on LOW for 10+ hours so the meat was a tad on the dry side. The soup/juice really helped though! Just pour it on! It definitely didn't have enough salt, but the herbs made it really tasty! I served it with chicken and garlic rice-a-roni and sourdough bread. Next time I will have white rice and some veggies on the side. I will post an update after I've applied the modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This recipe is so easy. Not only did my family LOVE it, but boy did my house smell tasty all day. We can hardly wait till it's done.. I have at times added less garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I had a large pack of chicken breasts. I am not a big fan of white meat so I wanted it juicy! I used this recipe and it was perfect. If you don't like beer I don't think you would like this. We also only included the beer and garlic (actually used Tastefully Simple's Garlic Garlic). It was awesome. I did not pre cook the chicken. I just threw it all in the slow cooker. YUM. If you like beer and garlic you MUST try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Excellent recipe! I also added some chopped leeks and a can of peeled chopped tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I made this recipe today in my crock pot and mmm, it was delicious! The chicken turned out juicy, tender, and flavorful. FYI, I didn't broil the chicken first though, so don't feel like you have to take that additional step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This was ok. The chicken did turn out very moist and tender, but we really didn't like the flavor of it. The beer was very strong and almost too strong for our liking. I think we will try again and reduce the amount of beer. Thanks for posting all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
My husband and I both like beer, but didn't like this chicken. It came out dry and the flavor was not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Very tender and juicy. Added onions to it! Hubby and I both liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Just didn't taste good. Too many spices, beer didn't really add much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States