Dee's Sexy, Spicy, Shrimp, Sausage, and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was tasty, but I wouldn't make the shrimp and the sausage sepereate dishes. Don't get me wrong this was good, but I thought it would wow me more than it did. I would make again just mix the shrimp in to the sausage mixture at the end. There is a LOT more shrimp to sausage ratio if you only use a half lb of frozen shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by DEEVA1
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
The recipe was edited by Allrecipes for clarity. We prepare the shrimp and sausage mixtures separately to build the flavor profiles, but because there is very little red sauce (it reduces considerably) The shrimp and sausages are served together over the pasta. A nice compromise for carnivores, pescatarians or epicurians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My husband and I thought the recipes were very good, but it should DEFINITELY be two separate dishes. The sausage/pepper dish served over pasta or the shrimp with butter served over pasta. Felt like we made two completely different recipes and didn't get how they went together. I would add oregano to the pepper/sausage dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I essentially combined the two separate components (actually two different preparations or dishes altogether) into one dish. In so doing, I swapped out a couple of ingredients for those I thought better suited - fresh tomatoes for the "pasta sauce" and white wine rather than red; both lighter alternatives. Given that I used the Creole seasoning, I omitted the crushed red pepper flakes. I used no butter, just olive oil; only enough to saute everything. I served this over Shirataki (read fake) angel hair pasta - a substitute that fools no one but makes you feel better about what you ate! This is a nice, humble dish, satisfying yet still light and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very tasty meal. Even though you seem to be making two seperate toppings, which you may be able to use as two individual recipes; the combination of the two side by side makes for a delicous combination of flavors. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Best dish we have ever! Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I'm not rating the recipe because I haven't tried it and probably won't because of the sausage. I'll add here that I had to rate it because I couldn't comment without a rating so I gave it a 4 which seems to be what most people gave it. However, I just wanted to say that I don't think food should be referred to as "sexy". I wish people would get over thinking if you call something sexy, others will like it more. This looks like a decent recipe without having to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Just don't tell the kids they are eating sexy shrimp. May give them ideas about the power of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Heaven on a plate! A special meal for any occassion, but it is a bit spicy, yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCouple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I didn't have creole seasoning, so used red pepper in a smaller amount (at least one kid isn't into spicy) I also made sure to de-tail the shrimp before serving, and put the shrimp layer on the bottom and sausage over. I could also only find mild italian, not sweet, sausage - and it still worked well. Milder than I expected, and might double the sauce next time since some like a little, and some a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States