Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was really really good. I cooked mine in the crockpot on high for 5 hours, last hour of cooking I added thinly sliced red onions. I also was out of chili powder so I used 1 whole packet of taco seasoning (Lawry's Hot Taco), and used fresh minced garlic. I shredded the meat and left it in the crockpot for about 20 minutes. Will be using the leftovers to make enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
This recipe is FABULOUS! It's tastes like what they serve at Moe's Southwest Grill. I made it in the crockpot (I don't like to cook things in aluminum foil). I cooked it all night on low. In the morning I shredded it and vacuumed bagged it for freezing. When I want to make tacos, enchiladas, etc. I'll have my meat ready. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
My husband lived in Veracruz, Mexico before we were married and he was totally "WOWED". I have made this with every cut of pork and it is so good! I also make in the crockpot and have never been disappointed. I have also made it in the crockpot with a beef chuck roast and it is delicious. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Try adding a Modelo beer and a 1/4 cup of cider vinegar for the liquid. Also replace 1 of the cans of chiles with a small can of chipotle peppers in adobo. Adds a ton of depth to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Definitely worth making!!! Used Hot Mexican Chili Powder as it has such a unique flavor and subbed cumin for the oregano as I was out of it! Wonderful flavor, though I didn't find it to be as spicy as many reviewers have noted. Next time I'll add additional cumin, garlic and jalapenos for a bit more flavor. Wonderful - give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I wish there was a 10 star option! The most delicious recipe we have ever tried off this site. This was the hit of our Super Bowl party. Topped the tacos with Southwestern Slaw and made pinto beans. I followed recipe to a tee. The only thing that I had to adjust was cooking time. My 4 pound roast (bone in) took almost 7 hours to be fork tender and fall off the bone. It was worth the wait though! We just ate towards the end of the game instead of half time. The kids and adults couldn't stop raving about how good this was. This is a keeper and one that I will make next time we have a crowd over. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Excellent! I didn't drain the green chiles, and btw they get added to the dried spices to make a paste. I used a pork loin and ended up cooking it in my cast iron dutch oven. After shredding the meat I put it back in the sauce. Very good for tacos. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I doubled all the spices for this recipe and I used homemade taco seasoning and a California ground chili powder which has half the amount of heat that normal chili powder has but still packs the same punch, flavor-wise. After I rubbed the spice mixture onto the pork shoulder, I seared my pork shoulder, then I laid it on the aluminum foil. I then poured the green chilies over the top, wrapped it with the foil and laid it on my roasting rack in my roasting pan. This roast pork was moist, flavorful and off the charts delicious. I might play with the seasonings again when I make this again but as is, we ate our fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was a really great recipe, very flavorful. I will be making this again, but couldn't quite give this five starts. The cooking time was far too little for me, as some others have noted. Because we were on a schedule I ended up just carving the roast like normal after five hours, and cut into strips and chunks for bowls, tacos, etc. I also did not find this to be as spicy as it was described. The meat is wonderfully seasoned, but some cayenne pepper or maybe even some more authentic mexican chilis/powdered spices would be needed for this to be spicy. Once again this was a great meal - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Wonderfully flavorful! This recipe made fabulous taco filling. Because I was going to be out all day, I made it in the crock-pot, and it came out tender and moist. The only substituion I made was to use cumin instead of oregano. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States