Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The roast smelled heavenly while cooking, but lacked the right seasoning. Perhaps a touch of sugar. The meat swam in grease. If I make bulk pork roast for tacos, I will season the meat with garlic salt, pepper, and bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Nix the salt and replace it with a packet of onion soup mix. I found that this has better flavor with cumin instead of oregano. One of the other reviewers suggested replacing one can of chilis with a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce - do it! The chili pepper may seem like a lot, but it works out just fine. I think I also added some garlic for more flavor. I took the advice of another reviewer by adding 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar and a chicken bouillon cube (this was combined with water in my slow cooker). Throwing everything into a slow cooker makes this a simple dish to put together. This made some REALLY incredible pork. This was excellent in a corn tortilla with fresh cilantro (lettuce does not belong on tacos!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
THIS recipe is in our weekly rotation now! We all love it, even the kids. I use whatever pork roast is cheaper that week and do the coating exactly how the recipe says. I freeze the leftovers, and reheat with a little taco sauce in a pan to add any juices that mightve gotten dried up in the freezer. its AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilliansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Love, Love, Love this recipe! The only recipe I use now for carnitas! After making this several times, I do add a little more taco seasoning, more fresh garlic, and throw in fresh cilantro from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe is a favorite in our house. It can get a bit salty, so when I remember I omit at least 1/2 teaspoon of the salt. Otherwise, LOVE this! I love to turn the leftovers into enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
My fiancee says these were the best pork tacos he's ever had. Although, I either use a slow cooker for smaller batches or a dutch oven on low for 6-8 hrs. I use bone in roast (who doesn't love a little more flavor) and leave the shredded meat in, turn up the heat to thicken the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These are the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jntsunami
Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Great recipe! I made this in the crock pot and tweaked it a little. I added about half a beer, 1/4 C apple cider vinegar, about 2 or 3 TBLs honey, and after a few hours of cooking, added more Chili powder and Cumin to taste. Added a little more salt too and some lime. Cooked 7 hours and was perfect!! So happy I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I was really apprehensive about this for tacos but my family loved it! I used 1 can Rotel, 1 tsp each chili powder, oregano and taco seasoning, 1 tbsp minced garlic, at 3 hours the liquid had evaporated so I added 1/2 cup vegetable stock and turned off the oven until we needed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
i had high hopes. not what i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Gausmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States