Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I generally snap photos of the things I make but this time I was so excited to sit down and eat this I completely forgot! The aroma as this was cooking was so inviting that by the time dinner time came around getting the camera out was the furthest thing from my mind. Hubs can’t take a lot of heat, so I used the chili powder recipe as defined by Penzey’s Spices, which consists of the mild ancho chili powder, cumin and oregano. I rubbed the pasty, spicy “goo” all over the roast and then just let it do its thing in the Crock Pot for about eight hours. Pulling it apart with two forks was no effort at all – this roast was fall apart tender. I set out all the fixins for tacos – warm tortillas of course, homemade pico de gallo, a shredded Mexican cheese blend, queso fresco, cotija cheese, shredded iceberg lettuce and sour cream. Hubs and I each made our own (mine was better) and we just enjoyed the heck out of them. Flavorful, but neither too hot nor too spicy. I never thought I’d enjoy this as much as I did – just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I really love this dish! If you want a little extra kick spice wise try using a can of chipotle peppers. Mmmm mucho calinte!! I used these peppers instead of the jalapeno and it was super spicy, just the way we love it!! Thanks for the great recipe Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizzwolfe
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It was dry and tasteless, what a waste. I am so mad I wasted a pot roast on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Sweet and versatile! We loved this pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was a great recipe! We recently bought a hog and I had no idea what to do with a pork shoulder roast so I searched it on your site and found this. Delicious! It took a little longer to cook till tender(probably 4 hours) but worth the wait. All of my kids loved it and they are pretty picky! I didn't have enough chili powder so I added a little extra taco seasoning and it was great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Love this recipe! I cook my meat in the crockpot on low for several hours until done and falls apart, the spices in this recipe are so amazing! Tastes like what you pay several bucks for at chipotle or qdoba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Combine this in a tortilla, corn or flour, with the southwestern slaw from this site, a little cheese, a squeeze of lime and sour cream...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
delicious, no substitutions thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I liked it alot...i added a red onion & red pepper flake to the bottom of the crock pot along with ingredients. It took about four hours on high but i didnt want it to cook too much that i couldnt slice it. I got my cast iron skillet and fried up the chunks i cut off about 1/2 inch or so. I used just vegetable oil and a skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaptain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I doubled all the spices for this recipe and I used homemade taco seasoning and a California ground chili powder which has half the amount of heat that normal chili powder has but still packs the same punch, flavor-wise. After I rubbed the spice mixture onto the pork shoulder, I seared my pork shoulder, then I laid it on the aluminum foil. I then poured the green chilies over the top, wrapped it with the foil and laid it on my roasting rack in my roasting pan. This roast pork was moist, flavorful and off the charts delicious. I might play with the seasonings again when I make this again but as is, we ate our fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States