Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Made this several times and it's always great. We use it in tacos and sandwiches. Whatever you do, don't under-cook because you will not be able to shred the meat. Vacuum-packed 2- to 3-pound boneless pork shoulder roasts are perfect for this. Remove the netting, apply the chilie rub, and then double-wrap the meat in heavy duty foil. We let the meat sit for a half hour before unwrapping, and the meat literally falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Very good ! Family liked it. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Made this in the crock pot and it turned out great. Reminded me of the shredded pork you get in burritos at mexican burritos restaurants. Froze some and used it later in enchiladas which were great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very easy and very good!! My whole family agreed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Fantastic pork recipe. Easy week day meal. I use this in the slow cooker for taco meat. My kids (both under 5) love it. Use mild green chilis and about half of the chili powder or it would be too hot for the kids. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I generally snap photos of the things I make but this time I was so excited to sit down and eat this I completely forgot! The aroma as this was cooking was so inviting that by the time dinner time came around getting the camera out was the furthest thing from my mind. Hubs can’t take a lot of heat, so I used the chili powder recipe as defined by Penzey’s Spices, which consists of the mild ancho chili powder, cumin and oregano. I rubbed the pasty, spicy “goo” all over the roast and then just let it do its thing in the Crock Pot for about eight hours. Pulling it apart with two forks was no effort at all – this roast was fall apart tender. I set out all the fixins for tacos – warm tortillas of course, homemade pico de gallo, a shredded Mexican cheese blend, queso fresco, cotija cheese, shredded iceberg lettuce and sour cream. Hubs and I each made our own (mine was better) and we just enjoyed the heck out of them. Flavorful, but neither too hot nor too spicy. I never thought I’d enjoy this as much as I did – just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I really love this dish! If you want a little extra kick spice wise try using a can of chipotle peppers. Mmmm mucho calinte!! I used these peppers instead of the jalapeno and it was super spicy, just the way we love it!! Thanks for the great recipe Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It was dry and tasteless, what a waste. I am so mad I wasted a pot roast on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Sweet and versatile! We loved this pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was a great recipe! We recently bought a hog and I had no idea what to do with a pork shoulder roast so I searched it on your site and found this. Delicious! It took a little longer to cook till tender(probably 4 hours) but worth the wait. All of my kids loved it and they are pretty picky! I didn't have enough chili powder so I added a little extra taco seasoning and it was great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States