Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The chili powder overpowers all the other ingredients making it a pretty boring, single flavor meat. As a taco filling it is just ok once you add all the other toppings, but it is definitely not anything special. Straight up taco spices (without all the extra chili powder) would probably be better. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Crockpot on high 5 hours, on low 8-10 hoursAmazing everyone loves them... I get the mini corn tortillas and spray the skillet with PAM Olive Oil Spray! One minute each side on medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
We made this in the crockpot (so super easy) and it was DELICIOUS! I doubled ALL the ingredients, except for the chili powder--we put 1.5 times the amount called for and then added 1.5 T of cumin. Very flavorful without being unbearably spicy (I do like some spice!). Shredded and then wrapped in a warm flour tortilla with all the toppings. . . so good--you have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is absolutely the best pork shoulder recipe that I have ever tried. I took my 5 pound pork shoulder, followed the directions for the dry rub, and then placed it in my slowcooker for for about 5 1/2 hours on high. I checked my temp and then let it rest on the keep warm setting and it was the most tender, well seasoned pulled pork that i have made. I did not use any braising liquid or anything, just let the heat and the park do its magic. We used our pork of tacos for five hungry people, have had left over the next night for two and we still have a lot of meat left. I highly recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
OK, 5 stars for giving me a good idea for leftovers! I already had over 2 lbs of juicy lightly seasoned slow-cooker shredded pork leftover in the fridge when I can came across this recipe using green chilis and oregano. Bingo...Mexican night! I warmed the shredded pork in the crockpot with 8oz green chilis, some chicken broth to moisten and 2tsp cumin and 1tsp oregano (set on low 6 hrs). Added fresh cilantro before serving with warm tortillas and pico de gallo. Melt in your mouth delicious! I can't wait to try the original recipe as-is next time we do pork shoulder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cjucoder
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Amazing. I had a smaller (about 1.5 lb) shoulder roast. Coated it with the recipe's spices (I did not reduce the seasonings despite the amount of meat I had), and put in the slow cooker overnight for 10 hours. The meat was absolutely delicious. Made carnitas with homemade corn tortillas, a spicy Mexican cabbage slaw, a bit of cheddar-jack cheese and a drissle of salsa. Served my own Mexican inspired rice dish on the side that I just winged. Holy cow, these were the best pork tacos I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
We love,LOVE this recipe!! We cook the roast in a crock-pot on high for 6 hrs, shred the pork in the crock-pot (shreds easily), and then cook an additional 30 minutes. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe. I always make mine in the crockpot the day before I want to serve it. The flavors really come out after it sits in fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
OMG! This is wonderful!! I cooked this in my crock pot and it turned out moist and VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States