Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
This is my go to pulled pork recipe. I make a bottle of "Taco Seasoning I" here on AllRecipes to keep on hand for this. Mix together all the ingredients, pot it in the slow cooker, set it on high and forget it. I often prepare this before bedtime and let it cook to perfection over night. Shred it in the morning. Package it up for several days worth of meals (tacos, burritos, enchiladas, add a little BBQ sauce for sandwiches, etc). Simple, easy, tender and delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Everyone loved it! I cooked mine in the crockpot on low for eight hours. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was really good. Due to my schedule, I wanted to make this during the weekday so I put it in the crock pot. I'm sure I missed some lovely texture from cooking this in the oven, but the crock pot worked great. I also have a small family and don't need tons of leftovers, so I made a half batch of this by buying a full size pork roast and cutting in half. Since I was cooking in the crock pot, I didn't drain the chilies, but I may next time because it was plenty wet just from the juice of the pork. My dish needed a little more salt than called for but that is probably due to the cooking method and easily fixed by salting to taste before serving. The flavor was really great and my husband and kids all loved it, but I prefer a little more spice. If you like spicy food, maybe add a little kick to it after shredding to your taste. If you do the crock pot method and you have a little time after cooking, I would suggest throwing the shredded pork in a hot cast iron skillet to give it some crispy bits. This is my new favorite pork taco meat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
It was good but didn't have a Wow! Factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So good!....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
A family staple....I put the pork in the crock pot and let is cook on low for 6 hours and it pulls apart easily. We add a little cayenne pepper to make it a little spicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe but based on others' comments, I modified it a bit. I doubled all the spices and canned chilies except for the chili powder. I suggest draining the excess liquid prior to pulling apart with a fork to make it less greasy. Was a great success in a slow cooker. Served on top of hot tortillas with avocado slices, chopped tomatoes, and whole leaves of romaine lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The chili powder overpowers all the other ingredients making it a pretty boring, single flavor meat. As a taco filling it is just ok once you add all the other toppings, but it is definitely not anything special. Straight up taco spices (without all the extra chili powder) would probably be better. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Crockpot on high 5 hours, on low 8-10 hoursAmazing everyone loves them... I get the mini corn tortillas and spray the skillet with PAM Olive Oil Spray! One minute each side on medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States