Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was really good. Due to my schedule, I wanted to make this during the weekday so I put it in the crock pot. I'm sure I missed some lovely texture from cooking this in the oven, but the crock pot worked great. I also have a small family and don't need tons of leftovers, so I made a half batch of this by buying a full size pork roast and cutting in half. Since I was cooking in the crock pot, I didn't drain the chilies, but I may next time because it was plenty wet just from the juice of the pork. My dish needed a little more salt than called for but that is probably due to the cooking method and easily fixed by salting to taste before serving. The flavor was really great and my husband and kids all loved it, but I prefer a little more spice. If you like spicy food, maybe add a little kick to it after shredding to your taste. If you do the crock pot method and you have a little time after cooking, I would suggest throwing the shredded pork in a hot cast iron skillet to give it some crispy bits. This is my new favorite pork taco meat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
It was good but didn't have a Wow! Factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So good!....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
A family staple....I put the pork in the crock pot and let is cook on low for 6 hours and it pulls apart easily. We add a little cayenne pepper to make it a little spicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe but based on others' comments, I modified it a bit. I doubled all the spices and canned chilies except for the chili powder. I suggest draining the excess liquid prior to pulling apart with a fork to make it less greasy. Was a great success in a slow cooker. Served on top of hot tortillas with avocado slices, chopped tomatoes, and whole leaves of romaine lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The chili powder overpowers all the other ingredients making it a pretty boring, single flavor meat. As a taco filling it is just ok once you add all the other toppings, but it is definitely not anything special. Straight up taco spices (without all the extra chili powder) would probably be better. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Crockpot on high 5 hours, on low 8-10 hoursAmazing everyone loves them... I get the mini corn tortillas and spray the skillet with PAM Olive Oil Spray! One minute each side on medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
We made this in the crockpot (so super easy) and it was DELICIOUS! I doubled ALL the ingredients, except for the chili powder--we put 1.5 times the amount called for and then added 1.5 T of cumin. Very flavorful without being unbearably spicy (I do like some spice!). Shredded and then wrapped in a warm flour tortilla with all the toppings. . . so good--you have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is absolutely the best pork shoulder recipe that I have ever tried. I took my 5 pound pork shoulder, followed the directions for the dry rub, and then placed it in my slowcooker for for about 5 1/2 hours on high. I checked my temp and then let it rest on the keep warm setting and it was the most tender, well seasoned pulled pork that i have made. I did not use any braising liquid or anything, just let the heat and the park do its magic. We used our pork of tacos for five hungry people, have had left over the next night for two and we still have a lot of meat left. I highly recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States