Dee's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
Loved it! I made some changes though: omitted the ketchup, and added 2 cups more rice. Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
delicious! I killed the spiced that were listed, except I added more cayenne. I also used lots of peppers (asstd kinds) and lots of tomatoes and black beans. it's a meal in itself when you do it that way! I drizzled it with lime after I cooked it to make it lighter and fresher tasting. also, if the ketchup taste bothers you, use a little bit of tomato paste instead...I make this at least once every couple of weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I really enjoyed the aroma of the spices in this recipe. I added hot chilli powder to this instead of cayenne. I like my rice spicy :) Adding ground meat to this would be a hit with the kids, I agree! I didn't add the ketchup in this, I used canned diced tomatoes instead. I served this with the lime juice too - it was perfect. I accompanied this with baked stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I wasn't very happy with how this one turned out. I think the tumeric gave it a bitter taste and the ketchup came on too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This was quite a crowd pleaser. Like many others, I also ditched the ketchup and used a can of chopped tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
A family favorite, just the right spice. I did add 1 lb. browned burger, and used more rice than called for. It was devoured by all 5 kids! This is definitely a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I thought that this recipe smelled good and looked good, but the tase was horrible. It had the nastiest aftertaste. BAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I didn't like the ketchup overtones of this. It seemed to have a sour taste. I will keep searching for a mexican rice recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good. Went well with tacos that we had for a birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Delicious! I made a healthier version with brown rice, extra veggies (mushrooms and spinach), and fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I also omitted the ketchup as suggested by others and it was not missed. Also used red instead of green onion b/c it was what I had on hand and it was still fabulous. Served with simple grilled salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States