Dee's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I have used MANY recipes from this site, but have to comment on this one. This is awesome for the left-over rice I have on hand. The spices are perfect and I also use canned diced tomatoes if fresh are not available. One special touch is to use Basmati (Indian) rice as it is fluffy and leaves a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Outstanding rice dish -- served with Cinnamon Lime Chicken Fajitas and everyone just loved the dinner -- this will be "added to the regular rotation" as soon as I get organized enough to have one ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This was was great. I made the recipe without the coriander seed....I didn't have any. I used some fresh cilantro at the end. Instead of using the fresh tomatoes and the ketchup, I used a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes. It worked nicely. Surely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYPHAT55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I love how everyone changes it up some and it works, you never get bored with it. I've had this recipe for about a year and make it often with what ingredients I happen to have. Today I used Poblano peppers and salsa. It's the browned spices that makes this dish great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHITIMACHA54
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
cann't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
We made this to eat with some store bought tamales and some cilantro salsa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Only suggestion would be to add salt and pepper at the end, not spicy enough, even with two pinches of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
The rice needed more spice. It was a little bland. I did add a cup of black beans. This was a nice touch. Overall it was an OK recipe, but I will continue looking for a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Fantastic! I used tomato sauce instead of ketchup and an extra cup of rice. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This was quite a crowd pleaser. Like many others, I also ditched the ketchup and used a can of chopped tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States