Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This bread is delicious - especially toasted!! I made it in my bread-making machine so it was also super easy.(I cut the servings size down to 22) I threw all the dry ingredients in, added the wet ingredients, closed the lid, pushed the button and 5 hours later I had a great loaf of bread! Great crust and a hearty, but not heavy, texture. I made a few changes: All whole wheat flour, Added 1 Tbs gluten Bobs 10 grain cereal instead of the cracked wheat (didn't have any) Added a little whole grain quinoa I'm going to be making this bread often. I usually make up batches of the dry ingredients and this recipe is going to allow me to make many variations. Thanks Dee for a great recipe and thanks everyone else for all the great suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is the best bread I've ever made! I cut the recipe in half and made two huge loaves. I also didn't have cracked wheat, flax seed or sunflower seeds so I used flax meal, oatmeal, sesame seeds and ground up a pecan and almond mix and added that as well. As I was putting them in the oven to bake, I sprinkled a small amount of the nut mixture on top... I did bake it most of the time with aluminum foil on the top so the nuts didn't burn. They turned out toasted and super tasty. It turned out light and fluffy but really sturdy. Mr. Cinnamon loved this bread and ate almost half a loaf with dinner. I will be making this over and over! Thanks for the perfect recipe! **Edit - Didn't mention that I used brown rice syrup in place of the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Cinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very good, nice moist loaves, and plenty to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have made this bread several times now. I added wheat germ and sesame seeds and everyone loved it! We use the rapid rise yeast and it works out great. I let it rise once and put it in loaves to bake. Mom suggested I put a damp towel over the loaves to let them rise and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Rice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This bread is amazing! The best bread me and my wife have ever made! Will definitely be making more. We had no cracked wheat, so we substituted it with chia seeds. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
My family loves this bread, it's my go-to healthy recipe. I generally cut the recipe in half to only make 3 loaves, and it always works out. In the past I have forgotten to add the molasses and it was still delicious. I always make it in my Kitchenaid stand mixer. I can never find cracked wheat, so I just use 100% natural wheat bran (not the cereal). I also just use all-purpose flour, not bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KootenayCookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very light and airy. Good texture for a healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This recipe is easy and delicious. A great breakfast bread with honey or sugar and cinnamon. I look forward to experimenting with future loaves by adding dried fruits and nuts. The bread remains soft and fresh right down to the last slice. I did not have cracked wheat and substituted wheat germ with perfect results. If there were 10 stars this recipe certainly would qualify!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really like this bread. I never have sunflower seeds so I just double the amount of cracked wheat. I also usually add about a half tablespoon more of yeast, as I just like a yeasty bread. I also substitute EVOO for vegetable oil and it turns out just fine. This bread has a really great flavor, and is fun and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I have tried this recipe with a few minor changes... I substituted the grains for Bob's Red Mill 10 grains and the molasses for maple sirup ! I cut the recipe in half and baked two of the very best loafs I have ever tasted. This recipe is now one of my favourite on Mac Gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States