Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really like this bread. I never have sunflower seeds so I just double the amount of cracked wheat. I also usually add about a half tablespoon more of yeast, as I just like a yeasty bread. I also substitute EVOO for vegetable oil and it turns out just fine. This bread has a really great flavor, and is fun and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I have tried this recipe with a few minor changes... I substituted the grains for Bob's Red Mill 10 grains and the molasses for maple sirup ! I cut the recipe in half and baked two of the very best loafs I have ever tasted. This recipe is now one of my favourite on Mac Gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Delicious. I couldn't find cracked wheat so I used a bit more of the sunflower and flax seeds and it worked out great. I did have to add quite a bit more flour (I used all-purpose flour) when kneading the dough to get it to be less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This recipe is simply marvelous!! I made this bread the first time and it was sort of yeasty. I added more water 1/2 cup, and raisins, dried cranberries and walnuts and my family and friends rave about it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Not the best taste. I halved this recipe to 36 and got 2 loaves. I had hoped it would have great flavor looking at the ingredients, but it's pretty bland. Turned out nice in that they rose nice, they are moist, not a brick of wheat bread as some can be, pretty loaves but flavor is lacking. Maybe another tbsp of honey? I don't know, it's missing something, may experiment one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I used cornmeal instead of cracked wheat because that is what I had on hand and I baked the loaves in my French bread pans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Loved this bread! Great flavor and texture. I love melted butter on top so it doesn't dry out. My oven is 25 degrees warmer so I baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This became an instant hit in my household. It's soft and fluffy, with the chewy wheat and seeds...so delicious. Will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Good bread but definately needs to be put into a sealed container or bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I like it, the husband does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States