Dee's Health Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very good, nice moist loaves, and plenty to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have made this bread several times now. I added wheat germ and sesame seeds and everyone loved it! We use the rapid rise yeast and it works out great. I let it rise once and put it in loaves to bake. Mom suggested I put a damp towel over the loaves to let them rise and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Rice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This bread is amazing! The best bread me and my wife have ever made! Will definitely be making more. We had no cracked wheat, so we substituted it with chia seeds. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
My family loves this bread, it's my go-to healthy recipe. I generally cut the recipe in half to only make 3 loaves, and it always works out. In the past I have forgotten to add the molasses and it was still delicious. I always make it in my Kitchenaid stand mixer. I can never find cracked wheat, so I just use 100% natural wheat bran (not the cereal). I also just use all-purpose flour, not bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KootenayCookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very light and airy. Good texture for a healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This recipe is easy and delicious. A great breakfast bread with honey or sugar and cinnamon. I look forward to experimenting with future loaves by adding dried fruits and nuts. The bread remains soft and fresh right down to the last slice. I did not have cracked wheat and substituted wheat germ with perfect results. If there were 10 stars this recipe certainly would qualify!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really like this bread. I never have sunflower seeds so I just double the amount of cracked wheat. I also usually add about a half tablespoon more of yeast, as I just like a yeasty bread. I also substitute EVOO for vegetable oil and it turns out just fine. This bread has a really great flavor, and is fun and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I have tried this recipe with a few minor changes... I substituted the grains for Bob's Red Mill 10 grains and the molasses for maple sirup ! I cut the recipe in half and baked two of the very best loafs I have ever tasted. This recipe is now one of my favourite on Mac Gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Delicious. I couldn't find cracked wheat so I used a bit more of the sunflower and flax seeds and it worked out great. I did have to add quite a bit more flour (I used all-purpose flour) when kneading the dough to get it to be less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This recipe is simply marvelous!! I made this bread the first time and it was sort of yeasty. I added more water 1/2 cup, and raisins, dried cranberries and walnuts and my family and friends rave about it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States