Dee's Date and Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was a good recipe. I've been looking for a recipe that might duplicate my grandmother's date nut bread. While hers was a darker bread, this was very moist and delicious. I got many compliments...and only one tablespoon of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe - wonderful taste and wonderful texture! I made it to serve to our playgroup when both parents and tots came over this fall for an afternoon of apple picking, and I just realized I forgot to review it! I was looking for a quick-bread that would be a little different than the run of the mill zucchini or pumpkin or banana - and this got rave reviews from everyone! (I did omit the walnuts because I wasn't sure about the tots being able to chew them well and because of allergy concerns). I just used a standard loaf pan, but have kept an eye out for the longer-style pan in second hand shops that Joan wrote about in the recipe's intro. I'm so glad to have a new way of including dates in our snack-times. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This was not a hit for our family. We didn't not like it, but we didn't like it either. No one went out of their way to eat it, so I won't go out of my way to make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Just want you to know..i have this exact same recipe..my mother-in-law gave it to me...she always made it at Christmas...and now i do...it is a very good date/nut loaf....it isnt supposed to be too sweet...i also have the long loaf pan that they dont make anymore!! it was my mother-in-laws....this is a great recipe for date/nut bread...great with cream cheese on warm slices....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANASOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I used to make a date and walnut bread as a child from a recipe handed down from my grand mother. Unfortunately, I lost the recipe. When I saw this, I though I would give it a try as it looked very similar. I'm afraid I didn't enjoy it very much. Too dark for my liking and not very sweet at all. I'm not saying that it's not a good recipe but it definately wasn't what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Excellent recipe! Didn't have walnuts, so I substituted pecans. Great with butter or crean cheese. Didn't last long. Plan to make it again for our Memorial Day get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Tastes just like my Nana's bread. She used to use coffee cans to bake with, which worked really well, giving the bread a nice all-around crust. I haven't tried using them yet, but you can bet I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
My mother gave me this recipe years ago, my whole family just loves it! Be sure to serve with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is absolutly wonderful.I will definitly make this more then once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States