Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Oh my! These are delicious! So glad to have found this recipe! Makes a great dish for parties or a family dinner. Very easy, too. I would think other types of meat would go well with this recipe. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTater

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
We loved this recipe. I served them at a party and all the people who hate venison loved them. I did add a small slice of pepperjack cheese between the venison and jalapeno, which I liked. It was also 3 degrees the night of our party, so I cooked them in the oven (400 degrees for about 20 min) and they were very good. I would think they'd be even better grilled, as the recipe suggests. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who has game in their freezer to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Fantastic! If you don't have venison. try flank steak. Use a good hunk of jalapeno. It will not be too hot. If you use pepper jack cheese, melt over at end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
These were EXCELLENT, I used elk round steak and thery were absolutely delicious. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Can't really say anything that hasn't been said. Easy enough, tastes great. Looking like a New Years hors d'oeuvres this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I made these and they were great! I even had "a few" leftover and they were just as good the next day. I did half according to the recipe and then the remaining I added Pepper Jack cheese to and left off the Jalepeno pepper. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe... even people that do not like wild game. They couldn't tell the difference and said they would make it anyways because they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Yup, have to agree with the other reviews ~ wonderful recipe, I used Moose and it was a huge success! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a great app. or main dish, We have been making these for years but we put a slice cream cheese in the middle with the jalepeno before wrappping and throwing on the BBQ. Delicious! Oh and be the way I am not a big fan of Deer meat but I could eat this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were the hit of the superbowl party. Only one problem I did not make enough. Oops! Even my hunter fiancee who does not eat venison ate them every time he went into the kitchen. I did heat some grape jelly to dip in. Was very good. Will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by texas wild hair
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I really enjoyed the process of making this dish. While you are preparing the meal you should put in a good CD ( I chose “The Gipsy Kings”) and have a beer or a glass of wine. I have a wife who does not like "gamey" tasting deer meat and I promised that I would find a way that she would eat the meat. This was it, without a doubt! The meat was tender and tasty. I modified the recipe a little because I added a slice of onion in the preparation and instead of tooth picks I just put the poppers on a kabob skewer. My wife doesn’t like Bacon much either (too much fat) so instead of wrapping her pieces in Bacon I just laid it on top of her skewer while I grilled them, then removed the bacon before serving. I complimented the poppers with a side dish comprised of heated Caned Corn, Black Beans, red onions and Avocado – as well as a baked potato. Everything was perfect along with a beer for me and a glass of Shiraz for my wife. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States