Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very delicious but I took the advice of another and crisped the bacon in the oven on broil. Will definitly be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
GREAT recipe! I didnt have deer meat, so I used Jimmy Dean sausage and it worked wonderfully. Other than that I didnt change anything. So tasty. Making this again real soon... my son requested it again for his upcoming "back to school" party. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I follow the recipe exact. I swiped the hubby's "saved" backstrap. Marinated it in Creamy Italian dressing for about 3 hours, removed and cut into chunks, wrapped with bacon and held together with toothpicks. It was fabulous. Did this for a 4th of July party, everybody wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
100% loved them...my friends and i couldnt stop eating them till they were gone!! I also cut cup a block of pepperjack cheese and made little cubes to slide down the toothpicks for the last 5 minutes of cooking...that made this dish PHENOMINAL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Excellent meal! We have this weekly at home - a twist I use is to cut a slice into the meat and put a pepper inside the cut then wrap in bacon. We also soak our's in Dale's overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
They were great. We marinated for 2 days and tenderized them. I added fresh mozzerella with the peppers and then wrapped them in the bacon with black pepper. Instead of cooking the deer meat before we wrapped them, and threw them on the grill just long enough to brown the bacon, then placed them in foil packets to keep in the juices. I have to say the meat was a little dry, but very tender. It could use a bit more seasoning. Just a bit bland. Good eats though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious!!! Very nice flavor combinations. Everyone thought they were beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Guillory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Oh my! These are delicious! So glad to have found this recipe! Makes a great dish for parties or a family dinner. Very easy, too. I would think other types of meat would go well with this recipe. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTater

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
We loved this recipe. I served them at a party and all the people who hate venison loved them. I did add a small slice of pepperjack cheese between the venison and jalapeno, which I liked. It was also 3 degrees the night of our party, so I cooked them in the oven (400 degrees for about 20 min) and they were very good. I would think they'd be even better grilled, as the recipe suggests. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who has game in their freezer to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Fantastic! If you don't have venison. try flank steak. Use a good hunk of jalapeno. It will not be too hot. If you use pepper jack cheese, melt over at end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States