Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My brother is the hunter and gives me back-strap every year. I usually make a stew or just cut it up and stir fry it on the stove top for wraps. i Wanted to grill it and found this recipe and since my garden is overrun with jalapenos I gave it a try. I cut my meat into 2 by 3 inch chunks and marinated them for about ten hours. I used the exact marinade and spices except I also used a few dashes of Teriyaki sauce. I used a whole piece of bacon to wrap with and put a jalapeno slice on one side of the meat and on the other a slice of sweet onion, and wrapped tightly, pretty much covering the whole chunk of meat. We grilled on charcoal with a direct side and indirect heat side, that way we could move the pieces that were done first to the indirect side while working on the ones that still needed to cook more. Turn these constantly while cooking and be careful because bacon drippings will send up some flames once in awhile. Once the bacon was pretty crispy and even getting a bit blackened we removed them from the heat. It took about 20 - 30 minutes for each over medium high coals to cook, depending on their size. Oh wow... were these ever tender and tasty and even the bacon was cooked to perfection. The jalapeno gave just enough spice, not too much. I will be telling my bro about this one. We served this with Coleslaw with a kick here on AR, was a perfect match together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These are fabulous! Don't change a thing. I'll admit, I did cook the bacon just a little before wrapping around the tasty tid-bits of venison and pepper. (Hubby likes his bacon REALLY crispy.) And I cooked them on a rack in a 425 degree oven due to the wild weather we were having outside. Love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
These are amazing! I've actually used duck breasts with this as well, and when I do, I never have any left over! So so so good!------------I also add a small chuck of cream cheese to the jalapeno, then wrap-makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
One word: Awesome!! The only variation I did was I roasted fresh jalepenos to place on the poppers. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great review from our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I have used this recipe several times at large group potlucks - it's always the first appetizer to be polished off. I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made these for a football party and had to make it again the next weekend. I used the inner tenderloin from the deer. Sliced it into 3/4"-1" thick slices. I seasoned the slices with Montreal steak seasoning and let it sit for about 30 minutes to absorb that flavor before putting it in a bowl with the jalepenos and italian dressing. I did not have any Greek seasoning so I just omitted that part. I then let them marinate overnight in the fridge. I did use a slice of Jalepeno on each one, some on the inside of the bacon and some on the outside of the bacon. We had ten inches of snow on the ground at the time so I did as someone else suggested and baked them for 20 minutes. I then drained the juice out of the pan and placed them under the broiler to crisp them up just a bit. Absolutely delicious! Don't plan on any leftovers because there will not be any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A.J.B
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I like deer meat, but it's not at the top of my list. This recipe, however, is SO good! My husband and I made this tonight, with a few alterations. Instead of "poppers", we made skewers. We replaced the jalapenos with sweet pickled banana peppers, and added onion. Talk about tasty- our whole family (including a 4 year old and 7 year old) loved it! We will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.J.B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were great! My husband said these need to be made regularly from now on. I made them for a New Year's Day appetizer while watching NCAA Bowl games. I used a pack of Cubed Loin and marinated it in Dale's/Moore's sauce and a bottle of fat free italian dressing. I let it marinate for a couple of hours. I placed approx 2T of meat on a 1/2 slice of bacon and topped the meat with approx. 1/2T of cream cheese, then a slice of jalapeno (marinated jar kind). Wrapped the bacon around the meat mixture and secured it with a toothpick that I had soaked in water for 30 min. (Make sure to stretch the bacon as you wrap it to make it thin so it will crisp up well.) I placed them all on a baking sheet and I baked it in the oven at 400 for 20 min. I drained the liquid from my pan and then I put it back in the oven and broiled it for another 5 min to further crisp the bacon. After we sampled them we decided that the jalapeno makes it too spicy so we removed the jalapeno before eating the rest and the jalapeno left it a really good flavor but without the heat. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpitts96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States