Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
One word: Awesome!! The only variation I did was I roasted fresh jalepenos to place on the poppers. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great review from our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I have used this recipe several times at large group potlucks - it's always the first appetizer to be polished off. I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made these for a football party and had to make it again the next weekend. I used the inner tenderloin from the deer. Sliced it into 3/4"-1" thick slices. I seasoned the slices with Montreal steak seasoning and let it sit for about 30 minutes to absorb that flavor before putting it in a bowl with the jalepenos and italian dressing. I did not have any Greek seasoning so I just omitted that part. I then let them marinate overnight in the fridge. I did use a slice of Jalepeno on each one, some on the inside of the bacon and some on the outside of the bacon. We had ten inches of snow on the ground at the time so I did as someone else suggested and baked them for 20 minutes. I then drained the juice out of the pan and placed them under the broiler to crisp them up just a bit. Absolutely delicious! Don't plan on any leftovers because there will not be any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A.J.B
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I like deer meat, but it's not at the top of my list. This recipe, however, is SO good! My husband and I made this tonight, with a few alterations. Instead of "poppers", we made skewers. We replaced the jalapenos with sweet pickled banana peppers, and added onion. Talk about tasty- our whole family (including a 4 year old and 7 year old) loved it! We will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.J.B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were great! My husband said these need to be made regularly from now on. I made them for a New Year's Day appetizer while watching NCAA Bowl games. I used a pack of Cubed Loin and marinated it in Dale's/Moore's sauce and a bottle of fat free italian dressing. I let it marinate for a couple of hours. I placed approx 2T of meat on a 1/2 slice of bacon and topped the meat with approx. 1/2T of cream cheese, then a slice of jalapeno (marinated jar kind). Wrapped the bacon around the meat mixture and secured it with a toothpick that I had soaked in water for 30 min. (Make sure to stretch the bacon as you wrap it to make it thin so it will crisp up well.) I placed them all on a baking sheet and I baked it in the oven at 400 for 20 min. I drained the liquid from my pan and then I put it back in the oven and broiled it for another 5 min to further crisp the bacon. After we sampled them we decided that the jalapeno makes it too spicy so we removed the jalapeno before eating the rest and the jalapeno left it a really good flavor but without the heat. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpitts96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
perfect, these were eaten as fast as I could make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were wonderful! Barely made it off the grill before guest were eating them at our pig roast. Did not use the steak or greek seasoning, but added cream cheese like reviews suggested. Guest that don't even like deer at our party could not stop at just one! Great recipe will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISIS7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
made these this weekend and they were wonderful everyone loved them. These are a keeper for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These really are great. I made some without the jalapenos for those who don't like spicy food, and even they preferred the ones with the peppers. My husband has to go hunting again so I can make more for the upcoming Holiday parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States