Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe except I baked for 20 minutes at 450 and broiled at 500 for 5 minutes to make sure the bacon was crisp since my husband likes his bacon crisp. The venison was dry (which is normal it seems from the recipes I've tried) but tender. I will use this one again for next years' kill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin 'Bower' Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe. People in my family who do not like deer even enjoyed them. The second time I made them I used a slightly spicy seasoning in place of greek and omitted the dressing. It was still delicious! I have done them on the grill and in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I absolutely loved it!!! This is the perfect recipe for those who are new to deer meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mendez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing!!! I skipped the Greek & Steak seasoning and did the rest as it says. they didn't last long. Will double up next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this tonight for the first time, and we absolutely loved it. Used others suggestions and tried cream cheese in some and pepper jack in some. We don't normally like cream cheese, but we actually like those best. My husband and 11 year old could not stop raving about how good they are! I have to agree, the deer tasted like beef, no gamey taste! Overall... Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Fantastic. I marinated the venison steaks in white wine and garlic for a few hours. Then sprinkled on some Creole or steak seasoning. Rolled them up and then poured a little italian dressing (fat-free) on as I put them on the grill. I also ran out of jalapenos so I used cherry peppers. I liked how the bacon kept the venison from drying out on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Next time I'll try making these with Allegro Marinade instead of Italian Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Couch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Growing up eating deer meat I find it sad many people don't like the taste of venison. These are always a hit at every party I make them for. They rarely last 10-15 minutes after I set them out. Great way to use up cube steak which is generally tough on its own. I have also had success baking then broiling them in the oven when a grill isn't handy. Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes then broil until the bacon is crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypiphi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made these for a end of year fantasy football game. I didn't use any seasoning, but I had Carribean Jerk marinade so I used that, marinated the venison chunks for about 5 hours, used bottled sliced jalapenos and high quality bacon. Gone in no time, everyone thought the heat was just right. Even people who didn't like hot stuff liked them, and people who didn't like venison had no idea it was venison
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Wow! I am new to cooking venison, and this recipe is fantastic! Only after I'd begun prep did I realize that I had balsamic vinaigrette, not Italian, salad dressing. I used it and it turned out great anyway. Also, for steak seasoning, I used a meat rub (closest I had). I also used a lot less salad dressing than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States