Deer Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I did what Barkable did and it turned out great! I ran out of bacon so I put pepperjack cheese on the remaining bites and they were delicious too! Next time I might put a small piece of pepperjack with all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times now. I followed the instructions the first time with one exception, I marinated the meat with the jalapenos as well. However, in the end the Italian dressing was a tad over powering so now I use the Lawry's Balsamic Herb marinade which is milder and doesn't eliminate the venison taste, but complements the flavors VERY well. I also add a chopped spanish onion to the marinade along with crushed jalapenos, pepper, Montreal steak seasoning. I try to marinade for at least a day or longer. (Each day I marinade for I will take the mix out and mix around and put it back.) I then take another reviewers instructions to cook them in the oven at 400 for 10 minutes then broil them to crisp them up. My friends and family prefer moist meat so it always presents a challenge with Venison since it dries out so easily. If you find your venison is dry try cooking it for a little less time next time or try making larger steak pieces. I am still experimenting with this recipe, but I have to say I am satisfied with what I have here. Best of Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was a huge hit. I did make 1/2 with the recipe as stated and 1/2 with no steak seasoning. It seemed like a lot of spices and I was curious if it was all needed. We love greek flavorings so that's the only reason I kept that side of the spices. Both were awesome and there was little difference between flavors. Also tried a few with cream cheese...excellent as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
It was so flavorful and juicy, it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I have taken this to potlucks, made it at home, everyone has loved it! I added one slice of purple onion, and the cream cheese in the jalapeno, but everything else has been the same! I have done it on the BBQ and in the oven, it's a great recipe, especially for those of us OFTEN cooking venison, I know I like to kick it up a notch! This is great in the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherhubbard77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Really good. Bacon really does go great with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe except I baked for 20 minutes at 450 and broiled at 500 for 5 minutes to make sure the bacon was crisp since my husband likes his bacon crisp. The venison was dry (which is normal it seems from the recipes I've tried) but tender. I will use this one again for next years' kill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe. People in my family who do not like deer even enjoyed them. The second time I made them I used a slightly spicy seasoning in place of greek and omitted the dressing. It was still delicious! I have done them on the grill and in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I absolutely loved it!!! This is the perfect recipe for those who are new to deer meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmendez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing!!! I skipped the Greek & Steak seasoning and did the rest as it says. they didn't last long. Will double up next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States