Deer Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Not to bad for a throw together quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TNociti
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Excellent and simple! Modifications: I was out of onion salt so I used minced onion instead and skipped the additional salt since there is so much in the sauce anyway. Also, used a dehydrator rather than the oven. Very, very good flavor. Better than any I've purchased anywhere. My son is THRILLED with how we jerkied his first deer! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Fabulous! My son loves beef jerky. He also loves venison. Put the two together and this is his favorie. So much cheaper than buying it also. He actually makes this himself. We usually have a lot of venison, so he makes it quite often, or often he doubles or even triples this recipe. He can put it away and quickly. Thanks for this recipe that we use and will use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
this recipe is so awesome it taste just like the jerky my Mom used to make years ago. Brings back warm memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Full of flavor but not quite enough spice for us...we added some red pepper flakes to the marinade to give it that the added kick it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I have never made jerky before and this came out perfect. It was gone within 24hrs... I'll have to make more next time! I did let it marinate a *long* time (3days....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
My husband goes hunting every year and he goes with a group. They don't eat venison so we usually get all the meat. So instead of buying a store bought seasoning decided to try this and we LOVE IT TRULY. Simple and great. Don't even know its venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I made this recipe but changed it a little. I only used 1 1/2 tbsp. liquid smoke, and I forgot the ketchup on accident. I'm glad I did, because the jerky turned out AWESOME! Just like store bought. Oh, and I sliced my meat a little thicker than what the recipe called for too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Hubby the hunter extraordinaire loves venison jerky and also loves black pepper, so he adds more. We have a dehydrator with a ton of trays and there are times that I feel like a meat processing plant. One tip, we quadruple (or more) the recipe and use the 2.5 gallon ziploc bag to marinate. I can't speak to how the oven would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Not a bad recipe, I used Cajun worcestershire that I bought in the French Quarter when I visited New Orleans and added some cayenne and red pepper flakes to make it spicier. My husband, who I made it for, says it's pretty good, but thinks I can find a better recipe, so I'll keep looking. But this was easy to put together and I'd recommend it to others. As a sidenote, my oven's lowest temperature is 170 and this recipe calls for 160--it cooked for three hours at 170 and had a great chewy texture--something to try for those who don't want to wait six hours for the jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States