Deer Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was very good, although we did add about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and were glad we did. We will also probably double the black pepper next time, but that's just a personal preference for peppery jerky. Used a food dehydrator and it was fantastic, going fast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
this is a great recipe that is simple and i would like to try some teriyaki i made it twice and the second time i cooked it 2 hours less and it still came out fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ketron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Too heavy on the smokey flavor for me personally, and lacking in spice. Easily fixed by tweaking the recipe though. My oven only goes down to 170 degrees so my cook time was shortened by about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Made your recipe today. It turned out excellent! The only change I made was to add 2 tablespoons of Frank's Hot Sauce which made it a little spicy. Will be using this as my new jerky recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was the best! I marinated for an additional day (or two) and added red pepper flakes, my friends couldn't get enough! I sent it to school with my son as a snack and his teachers are requesting more. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Hubby gobbled this up! I just added spices until I felt like it was right though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My father and I are deer hunters and we usually have a lot of meat in the freezer after every season. The past couple of years I have asked my best friend, and best deer hunter I know, for different recipes to use for jerky that his family of deer slayers and game cooks have gathered and used over the years. This year I strayed away and used this recipe. This recipe was MUCH better than any home remedy I have ever used. I gained so much confidence in this recipe that I had a taste test for my best friend’s entire family. They all agreed that THIS recipe was THE BEST. The only changes I made were to add an additional ½ amount of black pepper needed and switched the worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke amounts needed for a little more flavor and kick. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I tried this recipe this last week with it being deer season and all... and it turned out really well! Instead of cooking it in the oven though I used a dehydrator but the marinade was great. I made one other change, i added just a small handfull of brown sugar to the maridnade before I put the meat in and like I said it turned out great! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I actually haven't tried this particular recipe but it looks very similar to one that my dad used a lot. Just a note that I thought might be helpful is that instead of laying the strips directly on the racks we would put a toothpick through one end of the strips and hang them vertically from the rack. I might add that even if you carefully line the oven with aluminum foil you will still have a messy oven to clean, I guess that is why my mom hates deer season. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissSheila06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Not to bad for a throw together quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States