Deer Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. I put everything in a large tupperware bowl. I had all of the ingredients at home but the liquid smoke, what made it really nice, nothing too fancy. The smell of the marinade, made my mouth water. The lowest setting on my oven in @170, so I watched it closely and it turned out being the best jerky I've ever made. The "gamey" taste was GONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Have made this about 4 times now. Everybody loves, loves, loves it. Hubby took it to work and they all wanted to put in "orders" for more. Perfect way to use up the leftover deer roasts before hunting season starts again and freezer is refilled. Make a double recipe and just fills our dehydrator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tv608

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This jerky was very flavorful-we used a food dehydrator and it only took about 18 hours to fully dehydrate. We sliced the venison pretty thin and it was slightly crunchy and chewy all at once. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Great recipe! I make it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
My Jerky turned out perfect in my dehydrator. Next time I make this I will leave out the liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is the best! Way better than anything you could buy in a package. I divided the recipe and put red pepper flake in half. Both tasted awesome, but I am a fan of a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have onion salt, so I used about half a regular onion - small dice. Added kosher salt since meat loves salt. Used stainless steel cooling racks and placed them on old cookie sheets to minimize the mess in the oven. Getting ready to make a second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Recipe as is tasted fantastic! My second batch I added 1/2 Tb red pepper flake and 1/2 tsp cocoa-chili powder...it has been a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpenter115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is a great recipe. The only thing I did diffent was added some brown sugar and more pepper. And according to my husband it was great, but he would have liked it even more peppery. My 1st batch was gone in 8 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiredTeller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homer, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Finally a excelent recipe with out MSG.Made just like the recipe reads.A=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States