Deer Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe! I cut my meat much thicker than recommended here (~1/4 - 3/8" thick) and used a food dehydrator. I also like my jerky a bit spicy, so I added 4 Tbsp Tobasco and 1 Tbsp red pepper flakes to the marinade. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnimalWhiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is absolutely the best deer jerky ever! I have experimented with it a little..as I usually do a double batch, I have sometimes not doubled the ketchup but instead added the extra Tbsp using BBQ sauce instead. Also I have tried different varieties liquid smoke, mesquite and hickory, we like the hickory the best. Also I slice the meat while partially frozen, makes it much easier to slice, and I do it in a dehydrator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
i made this today it was the first time i have made jerky it turned out great cant keep my kids out of it its not going to last long i am going to make this over and over thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I tried this recipe and it worked out nicley. Instead of adding 1/2 teaspoon of salt, I added cayenne pepper instead to give a lil' kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Best jerky I've ever had. I've used both deer and beef to make this and always have people asking for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very nice. i added 1/2 teasoon red pepper flakes for some heat and shortened the cook time by an hour at a temp of 160 in a dehydrator
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljerry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My husband and me really enjoyed this deer jerky. I did think it was just a tad bit too salty. It was very tasty though. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
i love jerky and this was the best jerky that i have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I have had venison jerky before but never made it. My neighbor gave my family some venison as well as antelope. I used this recipe for both and the family LOVED it! It was gone within 24 hours!!! I currently have another batch in the fridge now! I will make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. I put everything in a large tupperware bowl. I had all of the ingredients at home but the liquid smoke, what made it really nice, nothing too fancy. The smell of the marinade, made my mouth water. The lowest setting on my oven in @170, so I watched it closely and it turned out being the best jerky I've ever made. The "gamey" taste was GONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States