Deer Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Did this recipe with some venison roasts and elk steaks sliced a little over 1/8 in. thin. Followed the recipe exactly except I added a bit of cayanne pepper to give it a kick. 145°F for 9 hours in a dehydrator produced fine jerky! Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I followed the recipe as directed and it was perfect. I don't have a dehydrator, so I used the oven. My oven selection goes from 'warm' to 200 and I had to guess 160 degrees. I'm going to assume my temp was too high and glad I checked it when I did (only after 4 hours)...just a little too done and crispy instead of chewy. But awesome flavor - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I followed the recipe very specifically down to detail. And the jerky tasted very gamey. My recommendation is to do what everybody else is doing. And add brown sugar and a lot more pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Wonderful simple recipe to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have made this 8 times, each time to the recipe beside tripling it. I have never had anyone not like this jerky. An electric meat slicer makes quick work of the slicing and if you plan on making a lot of jerky, I recommend having one to save time as that is the most physically time consuming part of jerky making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Great Recipe! Have made about 10 batches with this recipe and everyone has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Made this the other day...taste just like Wild Bills beef jerky. I used the oven method, my oven will only go down to 170 so I hung all my pieces from toothpicks on the top rack (pain in the butt plus knees and back were on fire..lol)covered bottom rack with foil then left the oven door cracked open a few inches with a little fan helping to circulate the air. Started it at 10 pm and it was perfect at 6 am. BEST recipe ever....however next time I'll add more black pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikethechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Delicious and the best jerky I've made yet! I did substitute brown sugar for the ketchup, but this stuff is addictive. If your new to jerky, get a dehydrator and a food sealer. Jerky is supposed to keep up to a couple years or better in the freezer though it never seems to hang around here long enough to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
To make this a 5 star recipe you need one secret ingredient. My father-in-law and I have tweeked this very recipe for years and you can play with it alot. However, one thing is a teaspoon or 2 of Dave's Insanity Sauce. Be careful with this stuff, it will set your world a blaze@!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph J Toland Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My husband is usually the jerky chef in our house. But with this recipe I totally showed him up. Everyone who tried it loved it. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States