Deer Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Came out very tasty! Used teriyaki instead of Worcestershire for one batch and came out store bought like. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I think I like this recipe because it's heavy on the Worcestershire (must be the anchovies :). Last batch, I deleted the ketchup and added 1/4 cup of light brown sugar; we like the sweet and salty thang. Yum! Another thing I do is to not worry about slicing the meat thin. Just take a hunk and beat the heck out of it with a course tenderising hammer on a plastic cutting board (sort of like cubed steak) until it's quite thin (do both sides a couple of times). The tougher cuts come out more tender and the meat takes the marinade quicker. Note: Cheap dehydrators may not get hot enough. Test for 140+ degrees or finish in the oven (for safety). We scored a barely used Nesco (adjustable temp) with extra trays a few years back at a yard sale for $25 (!!). Keep your eyes open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made this recipe but added 1 tablespoon of maple syrup, 1 tablespoon of honey, 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of Kraft Honey Bar-B-Que Sauce. My oven would not set below 170 degrees, so I set it on 170 degrees and slowly cooked it for 3-1/2 hours. The deer jerky has a good texture to it and is not tough at all. The next time I make it I think I'll add some extra spices to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Turned out perfect, children,wife, in laws loved it an asking for more. I will add a little more black pepper just for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
excellent recipe, same one i used to use when i was a kid that i found in an old cookbook. one suggestion that i might add was to change out the soy sauce with teriyaki sauce, tried it one time because we were out of soy, little different taste but i like it maybe u will too. i usually make both now just to give me two different kinds of jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
i just started using this recipe.it is very good but the only thing i did different was added brown sugar. what a difference. try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My son shot his very 1st deer/buck this year, and we love jerky so I used this recipe, and it turned out amazing!!! Then my husband said it needed more heat, so in the 2nd batch I made, I forgot the ketchup on accident, but added a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes and only did 1 1/2 tbsp of liquid smoke, and cut the meat a little bit thicker and well we ate the whole batch in a matter of minutes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desertdessert
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I have it in the oven right now and it smells delicious!. I used kabob sticks to skewer the meat and hang between the oven rack. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
it was really good first time trying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Did this recipe with some venison roasts and elk steaks sliced a little over 1/8 in. thin. Followed the recipe exactly except I added a bit of cayanne pepper to give it a kick. 145°F for 9 hours in a dehydrator produced fine jerky! Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States