Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by KissMorticia
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Real tasty chicken! Took about an hour total from prep to finished cooking. Definitely wish I had added more salt and pepper. Crunch and texture were great, but flavor was a little flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Crispy and tasty...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I DID IT!!!! I finally did it! I finally fried chicken and it turned out!!! I did everything this recipe said however I didn't have an iron skillet so I just used the heaviest skillet I had and it worked out great. I also added some onion and garlic powder as well. Otherwise I followed these instructions and finally I have made chicken as good as my Grandma's! I always look for fried chicken recipes but they usually use bread crumbs and other stuff. I couldn't find one that was simple like this, just like my Grandma makes hers. So a million thank you's for this! Every single one of my three kids and my husband devoured this. I'm 30 years old and this is the first time I've actually successfully fried chicken...I'm a real grown up now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Finally, the perfect fried chicken! Three elements are key: Crisco, a cast iron fryer with lid, and proper timing. While others prefer garlic salt, onion salt, and other flavorings, I prefer the gold old Southern staples of salt and pepper. Mmm! Thanks for teaching this male Northerner how to fry chicken like a true Southern cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooks4One

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
mmmmmmmm! Just like Mamaw makes in KY. I pulled the skin off a few chicken legs, dipped them in milk/egg wash, and heated up some crisco! I don't own a cast iron skillet, so I just fried 'er up in my omlette pan. MMMMMMMMMMMm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Quiring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
delicious !! I was raised on chicken fried this way. Tastes best fried with the skin on & using shortening or lard instead of vegetable oil. We enjoyed this very much but because of fat & calories, will have this only occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Very simple & very tasty. Used skinless, boneless chicken breasts and oil instead of shortening - still turned out a treat. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
The shortening worked like a charm. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into large chunks, so my cooking time was less. The chicken was very moist inside and crispy outside. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Excellent! I agree with the May 18 posting to brine the chicken in salted water for about 2 hours before cooking, This will keep the chicken juicy when fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hadley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is just like my mom makes. Another variation is to put the fried chicken into a dutch oven with lid when finished frying, add water & simmer. It makes its own gravy & is so tender & juicy. I'm not sure of the amount of water, I add a little (1/2 cup) & keep checking. When I was a kid we had fried chicken just like Marilyn's recipe at least once a week. I especially loved it when mom took the extra step to make it this way. The chicken is so tender & you won't be able to eat it with your fingers. It's a bit messy to eat, but soooo good. I think I'll make some tonight. Every piece will be your favorite piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States