Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
so good and easy to make!! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
So easy. I used oil because it was all I had. I also coated in egg yolk per another reviewer's recommendation. Worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This recipe is PERFECT! Thank you so much for sharing! I took the advice of another reviewer and brined the chicken for about an hour. We are big chicken eaters and I have been wanting to try brining and figured this was the perfect opportunity. The cooking time was perfect, my first batch of 5 legs I cooked 15 minutes longer because I was afraid it would not be done...BIG MISTAKE..it was dry and way over done. I did the next batch of 5 EXACTLY as the recipe said and it was juicy and crisp and absolutely PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
A cast iron pan is the secret. Either a skillet or cast iron dutch oven. I used my cast iron dutch oven. Less splashing. I did brine my chicken. [1/4 cup salt per 1 quart of water for 2 hours.] Also, put a little cayanne in the flour mix & let the chicken sit on a rack for 15 minutes after breading it. This helps the breading stick to the chicken while frying. Kitchen smells like "KFC". Will definitely make again. I love no brainer recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made this for dinner this evening and it turned out GREAT. I combined several hints and tips from other users to make my own special combonation. I brined the chicken (drumsticks) for about 2 hours in salt water, then soaked it buttermilk. I had a box of Zataran's Chicken Fry and used it instead of the flour and spices. Basically it's the same thing anyway. I put the Zataran's in a bag and coated my drumsticks two at a time, frying them 4 at a time in a heavy skillet in light olive oil. I made 8 total and served it with scalloped potatoes, green beans seasoned with country ham bits, and a ranch n bacon pasta salad. For dessert I made a yellow cake with chocolate frosting. I served beer and soda with the meal. It was fantastic, the best fried chicken I've made years. I don't recommend double-dipping the mix, esp in egg...it works much better the simple way. Thanks to all the other members who posted their tips, you were a big help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I love this recipe and so does my family. I found that soaking the chicken in either milk or buttermilk overnight really helps to make it melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Excellent Fried Chicken for dinner after Church on Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottsharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I brined the chicken and added more seasonings to the flour. Goya adobo is a great multi purpose seasoning. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I am a first time cook....my husband usually does all the cooking....so I made this one my first real attempt. My husband had seconds and my 5 year old, who does not like meat, actually ate a whole piece of chicken. Excellent meal which I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Best recipe ive come across so far!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States