Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was my first time ever making fried chicken. I did use twice as much shortening - just thought it needed more to properly fry. I think this just really needs more seasoning! Taste was very bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It was so good, I could've become teary-eyed knowing that I made it myself! I could never fry chicken the way I wanted to before this recipe. Out of habit, I added a few onion ring halves on the top of the chicken while they fried; this recipe itself is what made it all come together perfectly. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is the way I have fried chicken for 50 years, it's the way my grandma made it and my Mom, I am 75 years old, it's been in our family for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this recipe to rave reviews from my boys! I doubled the pepper though, and added a tsp of Chili Powder. It was the yummiest & easiest recipe! I even made a gravy from 3 tbsp pan drippings, 3 tbsp of the leftover flour mixture, and 2 cups milk. I have never made gravy, and I couldn't believe how easy & tasty it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alsparks73
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I am a good cook, though admittedly not a fryer of chicken. I followed the recipe, I thought to a "T", in a cast iron skillet, but the chicken turned soggy during the covered phase and when I increased the heat, the skin stuck to the skillet, so that when I was done, I had greasy chicken with no skin left on. Certainly not challenging the recipe, would just like to know what you think I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I just made this the other night in place of the recipe I had been using. Throwing out the other recipe and keeping this. I'll be changing the spices I use depending on my mood but this was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I have fried my chicken this way for years and never heard any complaints from the most picky eaters. Great the way it always turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda 2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Love this chicken, just like I learned to make from my mom & Grandma. For extra flavor I add poultry seasoning to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
boring...and how do you get 8 servings out of one chicken???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I loved making this for my kids. I have been looking for a really good recipe for chicken and I think I may have found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States