Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Great recipe and the only way to cook fried chicken. The only thing I added was garlic salt and it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Bland, greasy, took more than an hour to cook...never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Truly a Southern fried chicken. Perfect instructions. Please don't mess with a basic thing like SOUTHERN fried chicken. Want eggs.? Scramble a few, but don't roll chicken in them. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is the basic recipe I've used all of my life. It's also the one my Momma used. And her Momma before that. And...Need I say more? I like to salt and pepper the chicken for an hour or more before coating it, and I let the chicken 'set up' after coating (let it rest for 20 minutes or so, in a single layer, before frying--the coating will stick better). I use a bit more salt and pepper than is called for here, and I often add a tablespoon or two of cornstarch to the flour (it makes for a crispier coating that lasts), but it's still the same basic recipe. You can fool around with it, add your own combination of spices (in her later years, Mom liked turmeric and sometimes cumin), and I've played around with it, too. Eventually, I just start craving this recipe. In fact,I'm cooking it right now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Very good, reminds me of the chicken my brother would bring home from his work when I was a kid. It was the best chicken I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This fried chicken was much easier to make then I thought it would be. I added cajun seasoning and garlic powder to the flour instead of salt and pepper. I think I might flip half way through next time. I didnt use a cast iron skillet but I will try it next time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My six year old told me I could do better when he tasted this chicken. I'm giving it 3 stars because the crust was very crispy and stuck very well to the chicken. Having said that, it was VERY bland and that was after I added additional herbs and salt. I also marinated the chicken in buttermilk for about 40 minutes before I fried it. I would add more salt/seasoning to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
this recipe was a great idea. Im my buttermilk I added all the ingredients listed but added season salt ,lemon pepper,Accent, and parsley flakes (dried). It was the" bomb" as stated by my family. I also omitted the seasonings and added powdered ranch dressing after I dipped the pieces into the b, milk. Just roll in the ranch dsg. powder that you buy in the pouch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
best home fried chicken ever! husband adored it. i took another reviewers advice and coated the chicken with egg in between flour coatings. made the chicken nice and crispy. i also went with 2 cups of peanut oil instead of shortening. would give it 5 stars, but more seasoning is def. needed for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow! I actually made fried chicken that turned out right! I've been trying now and then for years with no success, but this recipe was just what I needed. I did season the flour more than what was called for in the recipe, but I wanted to stay true to its simplicity. I used seasoned salt and black pepper to taste. I also decided to use a pack of thighs instead of a whole cut-up chicken so that all of the pieces were evenly done at roughly the same time. I will likely try using breasts too, so it will be little healthier (haha!). I used a cast iron skillet; it really does make a difference. I had originally planned to try some "fancier" recipes with batter, egg, etc in the near future, but I think I've found a winner here. Any recipe that makes my husband this happy gets 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States