Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
this recipe was a great idea. Im my buttermilk I added all the ingredients listed but added season salt ,lemon pepper,Accent, and parsley flakes (dried). It was the" bomb" as stated by my family. I also omitted the seasonings and added powdered ranch dressing after I dipped the pieces into the b, milk. Just roll in the ranch dsg. powder that you buy in the pouch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
best home fried chicken ever! husband adored it. i took another reviewers advice and coated the chicken with egg in between flour coatings. made the chicken nice and crispy. i also went with 2 cups of peanut oil instead of shortening. would give it 5 stars, but more seasoning is def. needed for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow! I actually made fried chicken that turned out right! I've been trying now and then for years with no success, but this recipe was just what I needed. I did season the flour more than what was called for in the recipe, but I wanted to stay true to its simplicity. I used seasoned salt and black pepper to taste. I also decided to use a pack of thighs instead of a whole cut-up chicken so that all of the pieces were evenly done at roughly the same time. I will likely try using breasts too, so it will be little healthier (haha!). I used a cast iron skillet; it really does make a difference. I had originally planned to try some "fancier" recipes with batter, egg, etc in the near future, but I think I've found a winner here. Any recipe that makes my husband this happy gets 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Made last night for supper. Huge hit with my guys. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I give the recipe itself 3 stars, but the cooking method is 5+ stars. Total time from freezer to table was 5 hours but the time I spent actively cooking was way less than an hour. I took the frozen drumsticks(that was all I had) and put them in a ziplock with 2 quarts of water, 1/2 cup of sea salt and a splash of tabasco. I brined them for 3 hours. Then I soaked them in a cup of "buttermilk"(regular milk spoiled with a couple teaspoons of cream of tartar) and another splash of tabasco for another hour. Then I rinsed them off and dried them well. I seasoned the chicken with pepper and a cajun seasoning blend. I also season about a cup of flour with more pepper and cajun seasoning(I didn't measure how much). I put this in a ziplock and shook the drumsticks in the mixture one at a time. I then let them sit out on my cutting board for about 20-30 minutes to make sure that the coating would stick. I used my dutch oven and put two cups of oil and let it heat on medium high for about 5 minutes. I put the drumsticks down and let them brown for about a minute and a half on each side then I turned down the heat to low and covered the dutch oven with aluminum foil and let it cook for 20 minutes. Then I took the aluminum foil off and turned the chicken once more and turned the heat up to medium to finish crisping up the other side. Then I let the chicken drain on paper towels for 5 minutes. The chicken was amazing. The outside was crunchy and the inside was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
So good! The second time, I did follow the tips from other users to brine the chicken in a half cup of salt to 2 quarts of water for an hour, added 1 tsp of paprika to the mix, and after flouring the chicken I put them on a pan until the coating was gummy, it took 45 minutes for me, I fried them in canola because I didn't have shortening. It sound time consuming, but most of it is waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very easy and turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was my first time ever making fried chicken. I did use twice as much shortening - just thought it needed more to properly fry. I think this just really needs more seasoning! Taste was very bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It was so good, I could've become teary-eyed knowing that I made it myself! I could never fry chicken the way I wanted to before this recipe. Out of habit, I added a few onion ring halves on the top of the chicken while they fried; this recipe itself is what made it all come together perfectly. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is the way I have fried chicken for 50 years, it's the way my grandma made it and my Mom, I am 75 years old, it's been in our family for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States