Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I've been frying my chicken this way for years! I don't like all the gloppy mess of eggs and milk. I do add a few more seasonings though. I use McCormick Montreal Chicken seasoning and McCormick Unseasoned Meat Tenderizer. My chicken always comes out juicy,tender, and full of flavor. I also use Crisco Butter Flavored Shortening to fry mine in. The technique is what earned the 5 stars. Enjoy! You wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Craft Kirkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe is the standard for those of us south of the Mason/Dixon line. I tend to use more pepper than called for, which gives it more kick. But, of course, most folks in the south don't measure, per se.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDIERCKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is the only way my mom would fry chicken except she started using vegetable oil instead of lard. My mom would always soak the chicken in water with salt and pepper in the fridge during the day(brining). For the longest time I would only eat her fried chicken. Now that I am grown and she is no longer here this is the only way I will ever make my fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Phillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was great. I made modifications with seasonings but that is a personal preference. Still worthy of 5 stars. I didn't have an iron skillet but used frying pan and made lid with tin foil. You don't want to cover completely as it will soak up all the oil. I also let sit in milk for 1 hour. Awesome. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I love this recipe. I didn't have shortening though so i lightly coated the chicken in mayo before I tossed them in the flour. The chicken came out SO tender and juicy and i cut it up to put in salad and my husband said he wants this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelseyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
So simple a recipe, yet so good. reminded me of the Sunday chicken diners Mom made for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crisfield, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I've never made Fried Chicken before, and these came out perfectly! My fiance loved them. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
5 stars for the method! Like many others, I upped & added to the seasonings. My son, who hates it when I attempt frying chicken LOL, LOVED this chicken and it's because of the method and timing. My other attempts produced undercooked inside/overcooked outside and vice versa. The timing here is right on. I did use shortening, which for me crisps the crust better than oil. I always fry chicken in a cast iron pan. This attempt came out perfect - even with boneless, skinless breast meat. I also used a tip learned from hotmama44's review regarding using only egg yolks (I thinned it with a little water). Thanks hotmama44 & thanks Marilyn for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is fantastic chicken. I use boneless skinless breasts and add poultry seasoning and cayenne pepper to the flour. I also use vegetable oil instead of shortening, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
With my chicken, I soak the chicken in butter milk. About 2 to 4 hours.If you don't have butter milk make your own with milk and adding vinegar to it. And I use a little more salt and pepper a TBSP. each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States