Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow... this was so simple and delicious. This is true southern food! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AntoinettePeeps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My son has allergies to many foods so I have to really look at what is in each recipe and this one he can eat and he likes it. My 15 yr-old daughter had seconds! This one is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was my grandmothers recipe for fried chicken and I've been dying to make it for my family. I knew it was just that simple but forgot that she lowered the heat and covered. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I've been frying my chicken this way for years! I don't like all the gloppy mess of eggs and milk. I do add a few more seasonings though. I use McCormick Montreal Chicken seasoning and McCormick Unseasoned Meat Tenderizer. My chicken always comes out juicy,tender, and full of flavor. I also use Crisco Butter Flavored Shortening to fry mine in. The technique is what earned the 5 stars. Enjoy! You wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Craft Kirkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe is the standard for those of us south of the Mason/Dixon line. I tend to use more pepper than called for, which gives it more kick. But, of course, most folks in the south don't measure, per se.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDIERCKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is the only way my mom would fry chicken except she started using vegetable oil instead of lard. My mom would always soak the chicken in water with salt and pepper in the fridge during the day(brining). For the longest time I would only eat her fried chicken. Now that I am grown and she is no longer here this is the only way I will ever make my fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Phillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was great. I made modifications with seasonings but that is a personal preference. Still worthy of 5 stars. I didn't have an iron skillet but used frying pan and made lid with tin foil. You don't want to cover completely as it will soak up all the oil. I also let sit in milk for 1 hour. Awesome. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I love this recipe. I didn't have shortening though so i lightly coated the chicken in mayo before I tossed them in the flour. The chicken came out SO tender and juicy and i cut it up to put in salad and my husband said he wants this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelseyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
So simple a recipe, yet so good. reminded me of the Sunday chicken diners Mom made for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crisfield, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I've never made Fried Chicken before, and these came out perfectly! My fiance loved them. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States