Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
The only thing I did was improvised using tender flaky lard as I didn't have other on hand all and all I think it turned out great better then what thought it would and I also tried egg yoke and put some bread crumbs in with flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is similar to the way I've fried chicken for 45 years. Since I usually cook for at least 10 people, who always eat at least 2 pieces each, that involves a lot of frying! I dredge my chicken in the seasoned flour and place one layer in the hot grease, browning on both sides. I then remove that layer and brown another layer, and continue browning layers and removing them until the last layer. When I turn the last layer over, I add the previously browned chicken on top of that layer, and cover the skillet. (I often use two dutch ovens since I make so much.) I then turn the heat down to low and let it all cook about 15 minutes. I then remove the lid and all but the bottom layer of chicken. I turn the heat back up to medium high and crisp up that layeron both sides, then remove it to a wire rack over a jellyroll pan and place it in a 200º oven to keep warm while I crisp up the rest of the chicken, one layer at a time. Everyone who has eaten my fried chicken claims it is the best they've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is the way my mother and grandmother both made fried chicken. It's also the way my husband's (also a multi-generational Georgian) grandmother made fried chicken and they raised chicken on their farm. I'm from the deep south (5th generation Georgian) and this is the only way I had fried chicken until the fast food places came along. It makes for a thinner crust, and to my mind is much more the traditional deep south fried chicken than one where you use eggs to make a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I must say this is just like my North Carolina Grandma made! Don't have to be from the Deep South! I grew up with fried chicken on Sunday or my mother would change it up with Chicken Paprikosh being a Hungarian married to a southern boy! When I learned how to cook, your directions are just like what I was taught! By accident I found that if you season the chicken with salt and pepper as well as the flour, not bland at all AND shake your pieces in a big plastic bag then put the whole bag with chicken pieces, flour into the fridge for at least an hour, the coating stays on and chicken is more crispy. Being impatient I brown the chicken in hot oil then put chicken on a rack with a pan underneath and bake at 375 for 30 minutes. Crispy and yummy! I serve it with my grandma' s warm potato salad and black eye peas cooked with salty Johnston County country ham. Once in awhile I'll make buttermilk biscuits too. I agree leave your diet behind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
The recipe did not call for eggs, and so the flour mix fell off the oil immediately. Also, I wish it stated that a cast iron skillet is necessary for the chicken if you don't want it to stick to the bottom of your cookware. I will try again eventually, changing it a bit, but todays skinless chicken twas not praiseworthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Simply put this is my go to recipe. Never covered my chicken before this and now it is automatic. Everyone loves it and once you get in the routine it is simple to cook up. By the way it tastes great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Great recipe and the only way to cook fried chicken. The only thing I added was garlic salt and it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Bland, greasy, took more than an hour to cook...never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Truly a Southern fried chicken. Perfect instructions. Please don't mess with a basic thing like SOUTHERN fried chicken. Want eggs.? Scramble a few, but don't roll chicken in them. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is the basic recipe I've used all of my life. It's also the one my Momma used. And her Momma before that. And...Need I say more? I like to salt and pepper the chicken for an hour or more before coating it, and I let the chicken 'set up' after coating (let it rest for 20 minutes or so, in a single layer, before frying--the coating will stick better). I use a bit more salt and pepper than is called for here, and I often add a tablespoon or two of cornstarch to the flour (it makes for a crispier coating that lasts), but it's still the same basic recipe. You can fool around with it, add your own combination of spices (in her later years, Mom liked turmeric and sometimes cumin), and I've played around with it, too. Eventually, I just start craving this recipe. In fact,I'm cooking it right now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States