Deep South Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
First two star I have given. There is just better ways to fry chicken. I think if I did this again I would leave off cover and add more spices. Very plain and not as crispy as other fried chickens I tired. I think its because of moisture building up when the cover is on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Made tonight for first time, turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing your method & recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Loved, loved this recipe! I took others advice and brined my chicken (only for 1 hour since that's all I had time for). I couldn't keep my husband and brother-in-law away. I thought I'd have left overs, but guess not. Thanks Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I've been making fried chicken for years with all the mess of eggs and sticky floured fingers. This is the easiest and tastiest chicken I've ever made. I did add 1/2 a teaspoon each of garlic and onion powder and a teaspoon of paprika. Follow the directions, it's all in her technique and it is delish! Thank you Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This a recipe I use all the time except I use season salt (instead of salt). I add garlic and onion powder and chile and paprika powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I loved it! I added some paprika and crushed red chili peppers to the mix and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Wonderful recipe for a beginner. Nice and crispy and golden-brown, cooked all the way through. Oh-so-tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEBarnard

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
The only thing I did was improvised using tender flaky lard as I didn't have other on hand all and all I think it turned out great better then what thought it would and I also tried egg yoke and put some bread crumbs in with flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is similar to the way I've fried chicken for 45 years. Since I usually cook for at least 10 people, who always eat at least 2 pieces each, that involves a lot of frying! I dredge my chicken in the seasoned flour and place one layer in the hot grease, browning on both sides. I then remove that layer and brown another layer, and continue browning layers and removing them until the last layer. When I turn the last layer over, I add the previously browned chicken on top of that layer, and cover the skillet. (I often use two dutch ovens since I make so much.) I then turn the heat down to low and let it all cook about 15 minutes. I then remove the lid and all but the bottom layer of chicken. I turn the heat back up to medium high and crisp up that layeron both sides, then remove it to a wire rack over a jellyroll pan and place it in a 200º oven to keep warm while I crisp up the rest of the chicken, one layer at a time. Everyone who has eaten my fried chicken claims it is the best they've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is the way my mother and grandmother both made fried chicken. It's also the way my husband's (also a multi-generational Georgian) grandmother made fried chicken and they raised chicken on their farm. I'm from the deep south (5th generation Georgian) and this is the only way I had fried chicken until the fast food places came along. It makes for a thinner crust, and to my mind is much more the traditional deep south fried chicken than one where you use eggs to make a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States