Deep South Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
A dash of ground nutmeg (freshly ground is best) in the frosting and 1/4 tsp in the cake underscores the eggnog flavor. Because it is so moist, it's a great keeper and freezes perfectly. I see that some people have had trouble with the cake being dry or heavy. Be aware that butter cakes are rarely light and super airy. However, if the heaviness was objectionable, there are two possible reasons for this. First, if there is too much flour, the product will be heavy. Measure by dipping a spoon into the flour and keep doing until the cup measure is full. Sweep the backside of a knife across the top to level. Do not scoop the flour with your cup measure. Alternatively, you could sift the flour into a cup and level. Secondly, if the product was overmixed, that would account for a heavy product. After you cream the butter/sugar/egg/extract mixture, try folding in the dry ingredients by hand. Excessive mixing encourages gluten formation, which is the element that gives bread its structure and chewiness. If dry, that indicates overbaking. Ovens vary, so given timing might not be perfect for your oven. Check 10 minutes before time is up and adjust accordingly. Bake only until a toothpick comes out clean and sides begin to release. If your frosting feels gritty, mix the butter and sugar for 5-10 minutes with your mixer, until the sugar "creams." Test it by rubbing some of it between your fingers. If it feels smooth, then proceed. If not, mix awhile more until it's no longer grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My new favorite Christmas dessert! This was wonderful. I followed the recipe for the eggnog included in the footnotes; the only change I made was to add fresh-grated nutmeg to the cake batter and the frosting. I garnished the slices with whipped cream and more grated nutmeg. I also sliced one of my cake layers in half (it was a little larger than the other) and had enough frosting to fill three layers and frost the cake. I omitted the pecans, because I wanted a smooth cake without the crunch, but I bet they'd be tasty. Even the non-eggnog fan loved it: "Now this is about the only reason for eggnog to exist, as far as I'm concerned." Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by PFraser
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The frosting is excellent! The cake is dry and kinda "tough". I've always done Duncan Hines box cakes and this was my first scratch cake, but I followed the directions to a Tee. I do scratch frosting all the time. If I try it again, I think I will be adding more butter and maybe some dream whip to the cake batter. Aside from being dry the taste is good. If I can't get the cake right, I'll definitely do the frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Keller
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
love this recipe cause it was tasty and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Made this because could not find any eggnog ice cream in the stores. My family LOVES eggnog. This was perfect! Followed the recipe exactly, using store bought eggnog. It was so good made it again for a party and it was loved! Then made it a week later in cupcakes. My daughters came home from shopping trip and bought 5 cartons of eggnog so I could have enough to keep making this cake while they are home from college. This is an eggnog lovers delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimyaka Jackson
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I also left out the pecans then I added nutmeg and cinnamon to the icing. It was a Big hit. This is one recipe that I will use again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimyaka Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I like to bring something different every Christmas, and when I discovered the eggnog cake recipe, it seemed like a recipe with a great holiday twist. I am a fan of eggnog, so felt sure I would enjoy the cake, though I am not a big cake fan. The cake was moist and the frosting was turned out like something closer to icing, which was fine. Consider trimming the crown of the bottom cake so the top cake will fit better. Without the trim, you run the risk of having a lopsided eggnog cake. I definitely recommend this cake for Christmas or any occasion around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Loved it! My favorite holiday dessert! I will try a finer sugar for the frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I took this to a dinner and everyone loved it so much that I didn't even get to try it before it was gone. I skipped the lemon and whiskey and used soymilk eggnog and no one seemed to noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlin20874

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great cake. Left out the bourbon and made our own egg nog. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States