Deep South Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
A dash of ground nutmeg (freshly ground is best) in the frosting and 1/4 tsp in the cake underscores the eggnog flavor. Because it is so moist, it's a great keeper and freezes perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Rachel Keller
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
love this recipe cause it was tasty and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Made this because could not find any eggnog ice cream in the stores. My family LOVES eggnog. This was perfect! Followed the recipe exactly, using store bought eggnog. It was so good made it again for a party and it was loved! Then made it a week later in cupcakes. My daughters came home from shopping trip and bought 5 cartons of eggnog so I could have enough to keep making this cake while they are home from college. This is an eggnog lovers delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great cake. Left out the bourbon and made our own egg nog. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My new favorite Christmas dessert! This was wonderful. I followed the recipe for the eggnog included in the footnotes; the only change I made was to add fresh-grated nutmeg to the cake batter and the frosting. I garnished the slices with whipped cream and more grated nutmeg. I also sliced one of my cake layers in half (it was a little larger than the other) and had enough frosting to fill three layers and frost the cake. I omitted the pecans, because I wanted a smooth cake without the crunch, but I bet they'd be tasty. Even the non-eggnog fan loved it: "Now this is about the only reason for eggnog to exist, as far as I'm concerned." Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I like to bring something different every Christmas, and when I discovered the eggnog cake recipe, it seemed like a recipe with a great holiday twist. I am a fan of eggnog, so felt sure I would enjoy the cake, though I am not a big cake fan. The cake was moist and the frosting was turned out like something closer to icing, which was fine. Consider trimming the crown of the bottom cake so the top cake will fit better. Without the trim, you run the risk of having a lopsided eggnog cake. I definitely recommend this cake for Christmas or any occasion around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I took this to a dinner and everyone loved it so much that I didn't even get to try it before it was gone. I skipped the lemon and whiskey and used soymilk eggnog and no one seemed to noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlin20874

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This cake was descent! I had some eggnog leftover from Christmas i wanted to use up and this fit the Bill!! I didnt make the frosting made this in my bundt pan and made a simple glaze for over the top of it! I thought it was pretty moist no complaints with the recipe I just wasnt blown away.If you like eggnog this is the cake for you! I might try this recipe with a cream cheese frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States