Deep South Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
The cake is kind of coarse and dry, I am not sure what I did wrong. And the frosting is way to soft to keep its shape, it dripped all over. It tasted good, though. Taking into account the amount of butter involved, I am not sure I will be making this cake very often. My youngest son, an eggnog fanatic, loved to lick the leftover frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurel Keating
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I just made this cake but made it in a cookie sheet--I dont' have a picture yet but will post one later, I altered it a bit, I never had whiskey but I am sure it will taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Keating

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ltolen
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I loved this cake. It was better the next day. The rum flavor is very strong in the icing so I toned it done a bit with a sprinkle of nutmeg and allspice. Other than that I followed the recipe. The pecans are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Loved it! My favorite holiday dessert! I will try a finer sugar for the frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The cakes didn't really rise much. Next time I'll put in one 8x8 square instead of two round pans. My frosting was too runny and I added powdered sugar to thicken it. The icing was also had sugar grains in it (maybe the sugar should have been added to the hot egg nog and flour mixture and heated through to melt the sugar crystals). The cake did have a nice flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimyaka Jackson
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I also left out the pecans then I added nutmeg and cinnamon to the icing. It was a Big hit. This is one recipe that I will use again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimyaka Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My family thought it was very dry and heavy. I was disappointed, hoping it would have been more moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakequeen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Frosting was off the hook; the perfect consistency. Perhaps I shouldn't have put the cake in the fridge. I followed to recipe exactly. Left nothing out. Would bake again just to see if I can give the cake that kazzam! Lol! It didn't help that two of my guests were allergic to pecans. All in all it turned out good. Perhaps I'll leave them out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PFraser
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The frosting is excellent! The cake is dry and kinda "tough". I've always done Duncan Hines box cakes and this was my first scratch cake, but I followed the directions to a Tee. I do scratch frosting all the time. If I try it again, I think I will be adding more butter and maybe some dream whip to the cake batter. Aside from being dry the taste is good. If I can't get the cake right, I'll definitely do the frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States