Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
As the submitter of this recipe, we have noticed a few alterations and editing made to the original recipe over the past 12 years or so. Over the past 35 years our family has deep fried our holiday turkeys. Why we use a fresh whole (uncut) peeled *yellow* onion in the drain basket with each bird? Especially when frying multiple birds as we do, the onion will turn black and somehow the oil lasts longer and does not scorch as quickly. But please, don't cut the onion in half and stuff it inside the cavity as shown in the video. Clogging the cavity will only block the flow of oil that is crucial to cooking the bird evenly and efficiently. Why we don't use injections? Some swear by them and there are so many flavors out there to choose from. We actaully tried the injection once (since everyone insisted it was the BOMB) and found it did not help in making a more moist bird. The results were a much saltier flavor and less juicy breast meat. Why poke holes all over the turkey only for all its good juices to run out during the cooking process, and to deal with dangerous grease popping and spattering as those running juices come in contact with hot grease? We are just way more generous on the creole seasoning dry rub. 1/4 cup is not enough y'all! Our original recipe was submitted using Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. If you cannot find Tony's in your area you can search many fabulous creole rub recipes found on the web. Have a safe and Happy Thanksgiving and Holidays everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Instead of injecting a marinade I soak the turkey in a beer brine 12 beers a whack of salt garlic and a coue lemons for at least 48 hours and pat dry and voila best trukey ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Truly tasty!! Everyone in my family loved it. Mine came out darker around the skin, though. Most likely due to my having kept it 400 degrees by accident. It took me some time to get the temperature down from there. I think the oil and the turkey retained the heat for while, but the taste of the turkey itself was marvelous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Tried this recipe and loved it but I did somethig a little different. I melted butter and mixed creole with it and then injected it everywhere and then sprinkled creole after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Did not have creole spice, so found a recipie for one and proceeded...this was right on and we all loved it ty for sharing! This was my 1st deepfried turkey as well =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
We made our first deep fried turkey for Thanksgiving this year and would of been lost without this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing. We made the turkey for my grandfather, since my husband and I aren't the world's biggest turkey fans. However, we both indulged it was just THAT good! It was the most delicious and perfect turkey ever! I would give it 100 stars if I could!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
DELICIOUS !!! First time frying a turkey so I read alot of reviews. And I will never roast a turkey again. Marinating is the key for a moist turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Royal, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is the way to fry a turkey the best way!! But one reviewer stated..."put it in a NON SCENTED trashbag in the refrigerator overnight"... PLEASE...NEVER use ANY trash bags to put food into...they are ALL made with, NON-FOOD ingredients, and can contaminate ANY foods you put in them...there are food grade bags available...you can even use the cooking bags by Reynolds, you get 2 in a box for usually $2.59, and are pretty big--definetly big enough for turkeys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
3 safety tips: 1. Before taking the bird out of the bag, STAND the turkey in the cooking pot and fill with water until it just covers the bird . When the bird is removed from the water it will give the amount of oil you need to put in the pot. 2. make sure turkey is as dry as it can be, inject the seasonings at the last minute is th best 3. Turn the propane off before putting the turkey in, so that if the oil does bubble over there isn't a problem. Then relight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Made this turkey for Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit. Great flavor and juicy... I had to cook a 11 1/2 bird for about 40 minutes at 375
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States