Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
We will never bake or grill a turkey for thanksgiving again!! Here's a TIP to add lots of flavor: invest in an injector, and mix your favorite seasonings (don't be stingy!) with a cup of melted butter - we like the creole seasonings like chili powder, cayenne, or emeril's essense. You can even add about a 1/2 cup of beer to the mixture. Or you can buy the pre-mixed injectable seasonings. Inject the turkey with all of the butter mixture, sprinkle some of the seasonings on the outside, and put in a NON SCENTED trashbag in the refrigerator overnight - at least 8 hours. Then fry in peanut oil. The meat will not only be tender, but extra flavorful! Your Thanksgiving guests will appreciate the wonderfully unique flavor of the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
567 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I have cooked a few turkeys using this method super moist! I usually inject with butter and garlic. I have looked at other recipes and they do not recommed a bird over twelve pounds. I tried it with a twenty pounder and ended up with no left overs. It turned out perfect. Just make sure you have a big enough pot. To cut down on the danger of flare-ups (grease fire) I kill the fire when I'm lowering the bird in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
It is not cheap. We used about 5 gallons of corn oil for a 12 pound bird. I injected a bottle of strained Bernstein's Italian dressing and rubbed the bird with a mixture of 3/4 Emeril's Rustic Rub and 1/4 powdered bay leaves. Use two people and a broomstick to lower the turkey. Boy, was it good though! My favorite turkey so far. And the dressing flavor was subtler than you'd think. No soggy skin from where the turkey rests on the roasting pan, the bird was beautifully golden all over. Also, we didn't miss gravy as much as I thought we would because the meat was so moist. Not greasy at all if you have the oil very hot and pat the turkey with paper towels before and after frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Here's a safety tip. Trying to figure out exactly how much oil you need is always confusing. Before pouring the oil in, we put our raw turkey in the pot and cover it with water. Then, we pull our turkey out and mark the side of the pot with a marker of some sort to know exactly how much oil needs to go in. That way, you don't waste EXPENSIVE peanut oil and you always know you have enough. Try making Belgian Fries along with the turkey!! Go to www.belgianfries.com for directions. They require two cookings. Once before you cook your turkey and then after your turkey is done a few more minutes back in the hot oil. Crispy on the outside and oh, so fluffy on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
As a first timer turkey fryer, we decided to fry 3 turkeys for the neighborhood block party...our first turkey was a bit dry, since we allowed the heat to get to 375-400 degrees...definitely too hot at 3.5 minutes per pound. The remaining turkeys were cooked at 350 and were TO DIE FOR. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
To fry or smoke?? That's the question this year...did both last. I agree that injecting is a must. When I lived where the premade injection juice was not available as it is here in Louisiana, I used 1 stick melted butter,1 bottle garlic juice, 1 bottle onion juice and strained lite Italian Salad dressing and hot sauce to taste. Cajun seasoning rubbed outside is a must as well. If you have problems finding an injector, visit the Vet. The needles used on horses work wonderfuly. Peanut oil is not neccasary unless you are frying more than one in succession. Our family like to deep fry pisolette (rolls) while the turkey is resting...another thing you won't worry about at the last minute taking up oven space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Owen Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Frying is the only way to go. I've been doing it for years - so much that I've worn out 2 "standard" turkey frying pots and had a 1/4" aluminum bottom welded on my big pot (82 quarts - big enough to do 4 birds at a time!) for added strength. My only suggestion is that when you go to inject your bird (this is not an option in my mind) make sure you have the biggest guage needle you can find. Many of the readily available turkey injectors will clog with a speck of pepper. If you can't find a big enough one, just cut the tip off the one you have - make sure you cut it at an angle. Happy frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
In South Carolina, where your turkey frying skills are as important as important as what church you attend, this one wins every time! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Provence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
My Husband loves to cook, Thanks to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
3 safety tips: 1. Before taking the bird out of the bag, STAND the turkey in the cooking pot and fill with water until it just covers the bird . When the bird is removed from the water it will give the amount of oil you need to put in the pot. 2. make sure turkey is as dry as it can be, inject the seasonings at the last minute is th best 3. Turn the propane off before putting the turkey in, so that if the oil does bubble over there isn't a problem. Then relight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States