Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
i used this recipe as a model for frying whole chickens cajun style with a cast iron dutch oven and matching frying basket.works great for tailgate parties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
NEVER GOING TO ROAST TURKEY AGAIN !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
To fry or smoke?? That's the question this year...did both last. I agree that injecting is a must. When I lived where the premade injection juice was not available as it is here in Louisiana, I used 1 stick melted butter,1 bottle garlic juice, 1 bottle onion juice and strained lite Italian Salad dressing and hot sauce to taste. Cajun seasoning rubbed outside is a must as well. If you have problems finding an injector, visit the Vet. The needles used on horses work wonderfuly. Peanut oil is not neccasary unless you are frying more than one in succession. Our family like to deep fry pisolette (rolls) while the turkey is resting...another thing you won't worry about at the last minute taking up oven space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Here's a safety tip. Trying to figure out exactly how much oil you need is always confusing. Before pouring the oil in, we put our raw turkey in the pot and cover it with water. Then, we pull our turkey out and mark the side of the pot with a marker of some sort to know exactly how much oil needs to go in. That way, you don't waste EXPENSIVE peanut oil and you always know you have enough. Try making Belgian Fries along with the turkey!! Go to www.belgianfries.com for directions. They require two cookings. Once before you cook your turkey and then after your turkey is done a few more minutes back in the hot oil. Crispy on the outside and oh, so fluffy on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
In South Carolina, where your turkey frying skills are as important as important as what church you attend, this one wins every time! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
We tried this for a family get together. I must say it smelled wonderful - I think our whole block knew we were cooking :) It was the first time anyone in our family had fried turkey - everyone thought it was delicious - I did do one little modification. I did inject the turkey with lemon juice the night before. I would do this again but maybe add a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Frying is the only way to go. I've been doing it for years - so much that I've worn out 2 "standard" turkey frying pots and had a 1/4" aluminum bottom welded on my big pot (82 quarts - big enough to do 4 birds at a time!) for added strength. My only suggestion is that when you go to inject your bird (this is not an option in my mind) make sure you have the biggest guage needle you can find. Many of the readily available turkey injectors will clog with a speck of pepper. If you can't find a big enough one, just cut the tip off the one you have - make sure you cut it at an angle. Happy frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I made this as the centerpiece of our New Year Eve's buffet. Sugestion to complement the frying, brine the turkey in a clean 5-gallon bucket with 2 gallons water, 2 cups of kosher salt and 1 cup sugar for at least 8 hours, preferrably several days if you have the room to spare in a very cool place. Brining makes the turkey incredibly moist when combined with frying. Everyone loved the turkey and many didn't believe it was actually turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I have cooked a few turkeys using this method super moist! I usually inject with butter and garlic. I have looked at other recipes and they do not recommed a bird over twelve pounds. I tried it with a twenty pounder and ended up with no left overs. It turned out perfect. Just make sure you have a big enough pot. To cut down on the danger of flare-ups (grease fire) I kill the fire when I'm lowering the bird in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
As a first timer turkey fryer, we decided to fry 3 turkeys for the neighborhood block party...our first turkey was a bit dry, since we allowed the heat to get to 375-400 degrees...definitely too hot at 3.5 minutes per pound. The remaining turkeys were cooked at 350 and were TO DIE FOR. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States