Deep Fried Turkey Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Made this last nite didn't change a thing and it was great!! Everyone wanted the recipe. Can't wait to try on chickens in my ronco. Just be sure to let it sit for 24hrs before frying, cooking. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I love this stuff. I add a little more garlic, and a pinch of salt. Wonderful on Cornish hens. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this rub at the last minute on Thanksgiving day. The only change was to add a Tablespoon of salt. I rubbed it under the skin, in the cavity and all over the outside and the bird turned out fantastic! I highly recommend this recipe. I'll problably never inject marinade in deep fried turkey again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
What a great rub! Like other stated, the taste mellows a ton after deep frying. I worried it would be too spicy but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very good. A lot of the rub cooked off of my turkey and some spots had an overdose of pepper, but over all very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This was our first attempt at frying a turkey. We used this recipe for the Turkey Rub and also injected it with a jar of Creole Butter for the marinade. We had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
tried this for Thanksgiving, It was incredible! Had to look up the recipe again for Christmas because everyone requested! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the first time I tried deep fried turkey! I thought we messed up and turned 'tweety' into a chunk of charcoal! I made this rub and added rosemary into the mix. My food processor was a great tool for get everything chopped up good! I rudded 'tweety' down and had quite a bit of rub left over so I put about half cup of white cooking wine in the bowl, stirred and let it sit for awhile to blend then I dumped it into the brest cavity to marinate. After about 10 hours on its back I flipped it over onto the brest. I also injected it with apple cider beer. My crispy critter turned out to be very good despite that and everyone loved it! The marinaded juices even got used for 'big bird' in the roaster and made great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was phenomenal! I have never fried a turkey and was very hesitant. I got a great deal on the fryer equipment on Craigslist so I had to try it. I rubbed the spices inside and out, and under the skin after drying the turkey very well. I also cut off the tail for a better flow of oil. I did add the 1 T of salt as another reviewer suggested and since we can’t stand oregano I used basil instead. I also used Cracker Boy Original instead of a Creole spice. I let the bird sit in the refrigerator overnight. About an hour before the frying I let the bird sit out. If you mix the spices well you will not have clumps of any one seasoning in one spot. When I strained the oil with cheesecloth for the next use, (which will be this week) there was hardly any herbs in the oil, they mostly remained on the bird. Thank you for posting this recipe, I will use it again and again, and doubt I will ever roast another bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Terrizzi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Worried about it being too hot, it was not at all. Was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longs, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States