Deep Fried Turkey Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe, but I would reduce the Creole seasoning next time because it turned out so salty, didn't realize it was so much sodium in this seasoning. Our turkey looks burned but that's what happens when fried, it's just the skin it was nice, tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This will be my fourth Thanksgiving using this rub and it is YUMMY! People all look forward to the deep fried turkey and this year, we will use this also for some chickens to fry up for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hoffecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Perfect, I just did my first deep fried turkey and it was perfect. I did my research and used this rub and it was all gone after dinner even the bones were picked clean. I wouldnt change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great recipe! I have been using this rub for my fried turkey since I discovered it (2 years ago). I always receive great comments on the my turkey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Loved it, my first fried turkey was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
EXCELLENT! We not only did the rub (and not 24 hous in advance) but we enjected the turkey with a garlic marinade before deep frying it. Every said it was the best turkey they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Worried about it being too hot, it was not at all. Was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longs, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was phenomenal! I have never fried a turkey and was very hesitant. I got a great deal on the fryer equipment on Craigslist so I had to try it. I rubbed the spices inside and out, and under the skin after drying the turkey very well. I also cut off the tail for a better flow of oil. I did add the 1 T of salt as another reviewer suggested and since we can’t stand oregano I used basil instead. I also used Cracker Boy Original instead of a Creole spice. I let the bird sit in the refrigerator overnight. About an hour before the frying I let the bird sit out. If you mix the spices well you will not have clumps of any one seasoning in one spot. When I strained the oil with cheesecloth for the next use, (which will be this week) there was hardly any herbs in the oil, they mostly remained on the bird. Thank you for posting this recipe, I will use it again and again, and doubt I will ever roast another bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Terrizzi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the first time I tried deep fried turkey! I thought we messed up and turned 'tweety' into a chunk of charcoal! I made this rub and added rosemary into the mix. My food processor was a great tool for get everything chopped up good! I rudded 'tweety' down and had quite a bit of rub left over so I put about half cup of white cooking wine in the bowl, stirred and let it sit for awhile to blend then I dumped it into the brest cavity to marinate. After about 10 hours on its back I flipped it over onto the brest. I also injected it with apple cider beer. My crispy critter turned out to be very good despite that and everyone loved it! The marinaded juices even got used for 'big bird' in the roaster and made great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie McFarlane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
tried this for Thanksgiving, It was incredible! Had to look up the recipe again for Christmas because everyone requested! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States