Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I was apprehensive about this recipe-so much cayenne pepper! We deep fried a turkey this weekend and it was spectacular! I served it with slow cooker mashed potatoes and sweet green been bundles. We enjoyed one of the best meals I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
When I first saw this recipe I thought it sounded pretty strange, but once tried it became a favorite with family and friends as well. The smell coming from the frier is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Krank Moodie
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This rub makes the skin almost the best thing about the bird! Word to the wise though, dont sample rub prior to cooking as the cayenne is altered in the cooking process to be spicy, not lava-ish, just ask my Mom!LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I consider myself pretty gourmet - and was a little skeptical as well when I saw the ingredients. But I was willing to take a chance. Suspend your disbelief - this is an excellent recipe that I highly recommend. I made it for a pre-Thanksgiving gathering of friends who all loved it. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
As others have mentioned, I was skeptical this recipe would work what with all the pepper etc. I tried it. The marinade was the consistency and look of very wet coffee grounds,but I forged ahead. I fried the turkey 3mins/lb plus 5 mins and when I took the turkey out it was almost completely black! I was sure it was burned beyond use. I was serving 27 guests for Thanksgiving and this was to be one of two turkeys served. I sliced a piece and tried it - it was one of the best turkeys I have ever had. Give this a try, we will be making it again. P.S. I injected my turkey with a 1/2 bottle of italian dressing strained to remove the big bits of seasoning and 1/2 cup of Reisling wine. Wonderful compliment to the delicious skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This was so good I could go on and on. But the bottom line is, I will always use this marinade for my deep fried turkeys, it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
The first time my husband and I deep fried a turkey, we injected a marinade. It was a pain, and it didn't give the meat an all-over flavor. Since then, we've used this recipe, and THIS IS THE WAY TO GO!!!! The marinade has the consistency of wet sand. I rub it on the skin, under the skin, and in the cavity. Once fried, all the spices become milder and form a sort of crust that you just slice right through. The meat is tender, moist, and incredibly flavorful. Awesome, awesome, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I have used the recipe for five years now and I love it. I fry two turkeys for thanksgiving and two for christmas and everyone loves it. I have other families that come over just to eat the turkey. I highly recommend this recipe. Nothing Compares. Helpful hint when frying this turkey if you turn down the heat a little while cooking this turkey it will not turn it black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Johns Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Much better than the injector type turkey I had been frying. Yes, it looks like a red turkey smeared with wet coffee grounds. But it smells wonderful and doesn't taste that hot. Blackened turkey?!? exclaimed my DH, but he adored the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This is our first deep fried turkey experience. The morning of thanksgiving I got out all the ingredients and then realized I missed the part of marinating and injecting 8 hours or overnight. We only had three hours and the outside rub was still perfect. The inside could have been more flavorful, but it was simply because it didn't have enough time. I couldn't stop eating the crust as the flavor was incredible. Not an overwhelming cajun taste as we had all the traditional thanksgiving side dishes and it complemented it perfectly. My only note is that the rub recipe made way too much! I rubbed a very liberal amount on the outside and inside and still had over half of the recipe left (our turkey was 14 lbs). I wonder though if the rub wouldn't taste great on ribs? Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States