Deep Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
You can, and should, make this even if you don't have a deep fryer. Pour the oil into your deepest saucepan, and heat it on high. Peanut oil burns at a temperature much hotter than most vegetable oils, so it's got to be heated on high. Using your longest tongs, put a small clump of spinach in the hot oil and keep it there- you need to use the tongs to keep the spinach submerged or else it will float to the top of the oil and won't fry correctly. The fried spinach should be really dark green, light and airy, and it should just melt in your mouth. It's a nice complement to heavy meats and fish steaks. By the way, it so quick that you can make this recipe literally at the last moment, as food is being carried to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
In experimenting with this unusual recipe, my colleagues and I felt that while the idea is novel and the product is potentially shatteringly crisp and tasty, the instructions could perhaps benefit from some enhancement. At the outset, it is essential that the spinach leaves be thoroughly and completely dry. Guard yourself against the normal spattering of oil that can occur with a moisture-laden vegetable such as spinach. Of equal importance is the choice of oils: while peanut oil is a good choice, especially for flavour, if you have access to grape seed oil, do try it for its light taste and high smoke point. Experiment with the frying time; some of the leaves will fry crisp in 5 seconds, some will take longer. The ones that we let go for 30 seconds were overly done. Employ the use of a cooking thermometer as the temperature of the oil will drop with each frying event. Finally, do sprinkle not only with salt and pepper but also with finely grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma SJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Luton, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I use this technique with fresh sage leaves, basil,or flat leaf parsley. Now that I've made this recipe, I bet it would be great using swiss chard or radicchio too. It's gonna spit when it hits the hot oil, so BE CAREFUL! I like to use fried herbs or greens as a garnish when I'm trying to impress the family or friends. Yes, I'm shallow that way:o):o):o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is a great dish. It's a huge hit here in St. Louis, although we sprinkle parmesan cheese over the flash-fried spinach instead of using salt and pepper. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
We did not care for, some spots were cripsy while others were kind of spongy. Although we like spinich and I am trying to find new vegetable ideas, this was not one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This sounded crazy, but I had to try it. I had to use Canola oil for frying though, as I didn't have any peanut oil on hand. But they still turned out good, really light and flakey. Like another reviewer said, it literally melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a yummy and different way to make spinach. I have never heard of spinach being deep fried and am glad I tried this recipe in my new deep fryer. I used vegetable oil because I did not have peanut oil. I found that the spinach tasted best when I fried it in small batches for 30-45 seconds and when the spinach was chopped into medium/small pieces. When I put in large pieces of spinach I would leave it in the deep fryer for a longer amount of time but it just did not come out as light, airy, and crisp as the other pieces. I ate the spinach alone sprinkled with salt and pepper and think it would be great in the future on salads or as a side to fish/chicken with fresh lemon squeezed on top. Thanks for a unique and tasty twist on spinach :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I don't know what I did wrong but I didn't like them. Some were crunchy and some were not. But my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I rated this before, guess I will again. This did not turn out the way I expected. I must have done something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My kids love this! It's definitely their most requested green veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States