Deep Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is a great topping for chicken marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This side dish is awsome. Heat oil to 380 so when u add spinach it's still hot. Cook maybe 30 sec and do not put to much in at a time. Take out and hit with lemon juice and parmesean. Serve immediatly. Have to use fresh spinach, right out of garden is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by points
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
gave this a try the other night, along with "Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce" on this site. It was different, but neither of us really cared for it. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
We had this in Colorado and it was sprinkled with soy sauce. It was a crowd favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
first let me start by saying that I love spinach and so does my family. However this was NOT good at all. I have no words to say except it takes like paper with an after taste of peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
sorry, this was just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This sounded crazy, but I had to try it. I had to use Canola oil for frying though, as I didn't have any peanut oil on hand. But they still turned out good, really light and flakey. Like another reviewer said, it literally melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I rated this before, guess I will again. This did not turn out the way I expected. I must have done something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
In experimenting with this unusual recipe, my colleagues and I felt that while the idea is novel and the product is potentially shatteringly crisp and tasty, the instructions could perhaps benefit from some enhancement. At the outset, it is essential that the spinach leaves be thoroughly and completely dry. Guard yourself against the normal spattering of oil that can occur with a moisture-laden vegetable such as spinach. Of equal importance is the choice of oils: while peanut oil is a good choice, especially for flavour, if you have access to grape seed oil, do try it for its light taste and high smoke point. Experiment with the frying time; some of the leaves will fry crisp in 5 seconds, some will take longer. The ones that we let go for 30 seconds were overly done. Employ the use of a cooking thermometer as the temperature of the oil will drop with each frying event. Finally, do sprinkle not only with salt and pepper but also with finely grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma SJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Luton, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I use this technique with fresh sage leaves, basil,or flat leaf parsley. Now that I've made this recipe, I bet it would be great using swiss chard or radicchio too. It's gonna spit when it hits the hot oil, so BE CAREFUL! I like to use fried herbs or greens as a garnish when I'm trying to impress the family or friends. Yes, I'm shallow that way:o):o):o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States