Deep Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this, but with coconut oil. Very nice, and you should taste before adding salt. I think it actually tasted better without the salt, and I put salt on everything. I always use baby spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The China Grill in NYC has had this on their menu forever. My all time favorite. They use a huge wok to make it(with peanut oil) and still have to back off when the spinach is added. They just salt it and serve it. I've tried it at home and it's not quite the same because I don't have the huge flame in big wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
For the parts that were crispy, this was very interesting, but it's important to make sure the oil temperature remains high between frying events otherwise the spinach comes out soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Super super super greasy! Taste like you are swallowing pure oil. Baked Spinach is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS!! Let me say growing up in the south, I hated vegetables because they were overcooked and literally made me gag. This dish melted in my mouth. I took the advice of others. I cut the spinach in strips, made sure my oil was at least 300 and cooked for about 20 seconds. I seasoned with sea salt and parmigiano cheese. I LOVE VEGGIES NOW! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Not bad but you need to take care to ensure that the spinach cooks evenly...not as easy as you may think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfwiii

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is a twist on a Japanese recipe. Try it with Bok Choy instead. Also, add slices of fresh garlic with the Bok Choy. If you have Ponzu sauce at home its not bad to dip in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a yummy and different way to make spinach. I have never heard of spinach being deep fried and am glad I tried this recipe in my new deep fryer. I used vegetable oil because I did not have peanut oil. I found that the spinach tasted best when I fried it in small batches for 30-45 seconds and when the spinach was chopped into medium/small pieces. When I put in large pieces of spinach I would leave it in the deep fryer for a longer amount of time but it just did not come out as light, airy, and crisp as the other pieces. I ate the spinach alone sprinkled with salt and pepper and think it would be great in the future on salads or as a side to fish/chicken with fresh lemon squeezed on top. Thanks for a unique and tasty twist on spinach :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This had a nice flavor but was WAY to greasy. i tried squeezing it to get some of the oil off but to no avail. I did top with parm. cheese like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Good but very greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States