Deep Fried Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Thanks, I had this dish a few years ago with orange chicken. Never knew what it was fried in, tastes great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is very similar to a side dish I used to order at a chinese resturant in Chicago. I just moved to Florida and I miss it so much. I tried this recipe using spinach and Bok Choy leaves. It is wonderful!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe. There is a restaurant here in Tampa, FL that serves this at the International Mall near the airport but being able to make it at home really is a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
We had this in Colorado and it was sprinkled with soy sauce. It was a crowd favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This is incredible!! I had this in a restaurant here in St. Louis, found your recipe and gave it a whirl! Excellent with a dusting of Parmesan Cheese! It literally melts in your mouth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is a great topping for chicken marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
You can, and should, make this even if you don't have a deep fryer. Pour the oil into your deepest saucepan, and heat it on high. Peanut oil burns at a temperature much hotter than most vegetable oils, so it's got to be heated on high. Using your longest tongs, put a small clump of spinach in the hot oil and keep it there- you need to use the tongs to keep the spinach submerged or else it will float to the top of the oil and won't fry correctly. The fried spinach should be really dark green, light and airy, and it should just melt in your mouth. It's a nice complement to heavy meats and fish steaks. By the way, it so quick that you can make this recipe literally at the last moment, as food is being carried to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This was the side dish for a grilled salmon dish at a great little hot spot in RI. It was more addicting a bag of chips!! Thanks for the peanut oil tid bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is a great dish. It's a huge hit here in St. Louis, although we sprinkle parmesan cheese over the flash-fried spinach instead of using salt and pepper. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I use this technique with fresh sage leaves, basil,or flat leaf parsley. Now that I've made this recipe, I bet it would be great using swiss chard or radicchio too. It's gonna spit when it hits the hot oil, so BE CAREFUL! I like to use fried herbs or greens as a garnish when I'm trying to impress the family or friends. Yes, I'm shallow that way:o):o):o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States