Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
I am so very dissapointed in this dish. I wanted to do it for a dinner party, I bought 23$ in shrimp and started to make it well............DISASTER!!! The breading was so hard and it started a greese fire in my kitchen! I thought i would give it another try and try my deep fryer............even worse. Do not use this recipe. I am sorry to whoever posted it here but.... it was very bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
this is the recipe my husband likes it very much. I always use jumbo shrimps to prepare it.And anybody who tried it likes it. I do not know who review this recipe but was not honest enough to judge like that.I think she or he doesn't know anything about seafood that's why easily messed with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
Did not like at all. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
These shrimp were wonderful.This was the first time that I have ever made deep fried shrimp, and it turned out wonderful. It appears to me that the problems with the negative views were due to cooking stupidity. These shrimp are arsons, they don't start grease fires...people do! I love them, and I will make them again. Great with steak! A+ to the person who submitted it! P.S It was helpful to scale it down, 4 lbs is a TON of shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I have changed my review of this recipe. After having used it several times I noticed that the batter sticks to the bottom of the fryer's basket. The first (or maybe second on one of my lucky days) batch comes out fine, no problems at all. After that it's all downhill. Give the recipe a try, you might have better luck than me - I'm no batter guru to start playing around to see what I'm doing wrong. Thank you for the recipe anyway, it's always good to try new things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Grease fire? O.K., whatever. We hadn't had fried shrimp in quite a while, so I thought the kids would enjoy it for a change. The other nice change was not using bread crumbs. I did scale this down, added a lot more seasonings and coated my shrimp with flour before the batter mixture (to help the batter adhere better). These took only minutes to cook in my fry daddy. Thanks Ladan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Prepared this for my Birthday Supper. Everyone loved it. Those who start grease fires with this recipe, should stick to the entrees available in your nearest grocery store's frozen food case. Just heat... eat... and YUK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
The most delicious shrimp I have ever had! My husband even loved it and he's not that crazy about shrimp. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This has way to much egg. The batter doesn't stick. This was not good. I do not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
First, why not just add the salt and pepper to the batter? This falls under my category of 'What Was I Thinking'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States