Deep Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The batter was just too thick for us. We prefer the cornmeal/flour mixture with no egg rather just using the juice of the oysters to make the breading stick. The key to keeping the breading from falling off is to make sure your oil is hot enough. I use an electric skillet to regulate the heat of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
I tried this recipe for scallops. It is the recipe I have been looking for. I was never satisfied with any fried scallop recipe I tried. The scallops were delicious. Thanks Christine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Very delicious and easy, though a lot of the breading was leftover. Others might like to have more than 12 ounces of oysters for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Great recipe! I usually chill the prepared oysters for a few hours before frying. Seems to make the oysters more crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was great! Replaced the breadcrumbs with wheat Ritz crackers for extra crunch & added a dash of Old Bay to the flour. I don't like oysters but my husband loves them. I even ate one and enjoyed it - the breading was perfect! Will have to try to other foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
I used this recipe for shrimp. It was wonderful! It isn't often you can find a recipe that will please a family of 6, but this one did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These were delicious! I haven't had fried oyster in about 20 years. I was young then and they kind of grossed me out. Now that I am older, and I had worked up the nerve to try them again I couldn't find a good recipe until now. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This recipe was very helpful. Though I used flour instead of crumbs they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Terrific recipe! I used crushed Club Crackers instead of bread crumbs and peanut oil for frying. A pinch of cayenne pepper in the crumbs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I loved the simple steps and quick preparation time of this recipe, especially since I am not the best cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States