Deep Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
I used this recipe for shrimp. It was wonderful! It isn't often you can find a recipe that will please a family of 6, but this one did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Very delicious and easy, though a lot of the breading was leftover. Others might like to have more than 12 ounces of oysters for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
I tried this recipe for scallops. It is the recipe I have been looking for. I was never satisfied with any fried scallop recipe I tried. The scallops were delicious. Thanks Christine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This recipe was very helpful. Though I used flour instead of crumbs they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I loved the simple steps and quick preparation time of this recipe, especially since I am not the best cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Terrific recipe! I used crushed Club Crackers instead of bread crumbs and peanut oil for frying. A pinch of cayenne pepper in the crumbs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These oysters were great. I didn't change a thing about the recipe. I used more breading on some oysters and less on others. I prefered the ones with less breading. My boyfriend made his own cocktail sauce to dip these in and they were fabulous with that. He just mixed ketchup, horseradish, Worcestershire, and black pepper together. The fried oysters weren't as good as I've had at our local crab house, but they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The batter was just too thick for us. We prefer the cornmeal/flour mixture with no egg rather just using the juice of the oysters to make the breading stick. The key to keeping the breading from falling off is to make sure your oil is hot enough. I use an electric skillet to regulate the heat of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These were delicious! I haven't had fried oyster in about 20 years. I was young then and they kind of grossed me out. Now that I am older, and I had worked up the nerve to try them again I couldn't find a good recipe until now. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Great recipe! I usually chill the prepared oysters for a few hours before frying. Seems to make the oysters more crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States