Deep Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Use fresh oysters instead of canned ones as they become kind of chewey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
this takes me back to my youth...my family would gather and we would have a meal consisting of nothing but oysters. fried were my favorite...just like these. but we also had oyster stew, oysters rockafeller, oysters broiled with bechamel sauce. It was a yearly tradition i miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
the only thing I added to this was a dash of cayenne! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Nice crisp crust that stays on. I add spicy chili sauce to the egg wash for a kick. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is the first time I have tried to do Oysters. I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs, and it was crispy, but detracted from the oyster taste, so will try it next time with bread crumbs. Also, I didn't use that much oil. I put about an inch in the frying pan, and that worked well. Two tips I would have for next time. Don't over handle the oysters, and when flouring and dipping in the egg and crumbs, handle quickly and don't stack them or let them sit too long. Also, I may have over cooked them. I will keep trying. My Mom used to make them, but as a kid, I didn't like them. Now, decades later, I've developed a taste for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Used for shrimp (fry 3 min) bread crumbs too brown needs half tsp of something old bay,garlic powder,onion salt??. Nice coating will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was great! Replaced the breadcrumbs with wheat Ritz crackers for extra crunch & added a dash of Old Bay to the flour. I don't like oysters but my husband loves them. I even ate one and enjoyed it - the breading was perfect! Will have to try to other foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was a good breading but it was lacking salt or something I just can figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mathews, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Great recipe! I usually chill the prepared oysters for a few hours before frying. Seems to make the oysters more crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These were delicious! I haven't had fried oyster in about 20 years. I was young then and they kind of grossed me out. Now that I am older, and I had worked up the nerve to try them again I couldn't find a good recipe until now. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States